Fundraising Campaign 2016

Bozzini Quartet — Fundraising Campaign: Recipe for Success
October 2016, 2m15s
Simon Martin talks about the Composer’s Kitchen
November 2016, 2m35s
Taylor Brook talks about the Composer’s Kitchen
November 2016, 3m07s

Composer’s Kitchen: Recipe for Success!

Dear Friends,
From October 4th to December 5th, we are launching our fundraising campaign Composer’s Kitchen: Recipe for Success! For each dollar that you give Mécénat Placements Culture will give two dollars. Thus your donation reach is tripled.

How to Give

  • Donate online via Canada Helps.
    Donate Now Through CanadaHelps.org!
  • Or donate by check at:
    Quatuor Bozzini, 4814 Clark, Montréal (Québec), Canada, H2T 2T5

What is Composer’s Kitchen?

Presented annually since 2005, Composer’s Kitchen is one of our workshops for the young generation. Focused on string quartet, this unique experience is a fusion of workshop, lab, and masterclass. For one week, the quartet and two mentor composers examine and study the works of four young and upcoming composers. Their pieces are read, dissected, commented upon, worked on, analysed, replayed, and then performed in the final concert. Composer’s Kitchen happens in an environment that favours exchanges and collaboration between the composers and the quartet. It was important for us to create a non-competitive setting, where composers have complete freedom to try new approaches to music through string quartet composition.

Over the years, Composer’s Kitchen has become a valuable launchpad for young composers. In 2012, we extended the workshop format to a two-phase Composer’s Kitchen with international partnerships in the UK (hcmf//, SoundandMusic) and in the Netherlands (Gaudeamus). The workshop happens over two sessions, separated by several months, to allow the composers a longer time to develop and deepen their pieces. Consequently, they get the chance to have their piece performed at least twice, once in Canada and once overseas.

Until now we have been supporting our composers in every possible way, trying to have different sources of funding for our Composer’s Kitchen workshop. Our ultimate goal is to fully fund participants with travel, accommodation, scholarship and tuition.

We are setting an endowment fund for CK so that we can ensure that this program continues for many years to come — please donate and be a part of this Recipe for Success!

Donate and support musical creation!

leggiero less than 100$
grazioso 200$
spiritoso 300$
appassionato 400$
maestoso 500$
grandioso 1000$ and more

Mécénat Placements Culture, a grant program of Quebec’s Ministère de la Culture et des Communications, is offering us a unique opportunity to instantly triple the value of raised funds: for each dollar raised, the MCC will add two dollars to the campaign. Our goal is to reach $30 000 by December 5 2016; the result being an endowment fund of $90 000 dedicated to Composer’s Kitchen, because of your generosity and the matched donation from Placements Culture.

This campaign comes at an exceptional occasion and will allow us to invest long-term commitment and energies into Composer’s Kitchen activities. In this way, we can focus on continuing to create with artists of the emerging generation.

Thank you in advance!

Brief history of Composer’s Kitchen:

Since the first edition in 2005, 67 young composers have participated in Composer’s Kitchen.

  • 2005-2011: Annual workshop in Montréal
  • 2011: Album, À chacun sa miniature, was produced with music from 31 former workshop participants.
  • 2012-2014: Partnership with Huddersfield Contemporary Music Festival (U.K.), start of the bi-annual workshop.
  • 2015: Partnership with Sound and Music (U.K.)
  • 2016: Partnership with Gaudeamus (Netherlands)
  • 2017 Partnership with Sound and Music (U.K.)

How to Give

  • Donate online via Canada Helps.
    Donate Now Through CanadaHelps.org!
  • Or donate by check at:
    Quatuor Bozzini, 4814 Clark, Montréal (Québec), Canada, H2T 2T5

Campagne de collecte de fonds 2016

Quatuor Bozzini — Collecte de fonds: La recette du succès
octobre 2016, 2m15s
Simon Martin parle du Composer’s Kitchen
novembre 2016, 2m35s
Taylor Brook parle du Composer’s Kitchen
novembre 2016, 3m07s

Composer’s Kitchen: La recette du succès!

Chères amies, chers amis,
Du 4 octobre au 5 décembre 2016, nous menons notre campagne de collecte de fonds Composer’s Kitchen: La recette du succès!

Pour chaque dollar donné, Mécénat Placements Culture donne deux dollars. Vos dons ont donc une triple portée!

Comment donner

  • Faites votre contribution en ligne sur CanaDon.
    Faire un don maintenant par CanaDon.org!
  • Ou faites un don par chèque à:
    Quatuor Bozzini, 4814 Clark, Montréal (Québec), Canada, H2T 2T5

Le Composer’s Kitchen, de quoi s’agit-il?

Présenté annuellement depuis 2005, le Composer’s Kitchen est l’un de nos ateliers de composition pour la relève. Cet événement unique centré sur l’écriture pour quatuor à cordes fusionne les concepts d’atelier, de laboratoire et de cours de maître. Pendant une semaine, le quatuor et deux compositeurs mentors se penchent sur les œuvres de quatre jeunes compositeurs et compositrices de la génération montante. Chaque pièce est lue, décortiquée, commentée, travaillée, analysée, rejouée, puis présentée en concert à la clôture. Le Composer’s Kitchen se déroule dans une atmosphère qui favorise les échanges et la collaboration. Il est très important pour nous de créer un esprit non-compétitif afin que les jeunes compositeurs puissent expérimenter tout à fait librement des nouvelles approches de composition pour le quatuor.

Au fil des années, le Composer’s Kitchen s’est avéré une plate-forme de grande valeur pour les jeunes compositeurs et compositrices. En 2012, nous avons établi des partenariats internationaux au Royaume-Uni (hcmf//, SoundandMusic) et aux Pays-Bas (Gaudeamus). L’atelier se décline en deux rencontres espacées de quelques mois, pour permettre aux compositeurs d’approfondir leurs œuvres, et de les rendre à maturité. Ils ont ainsi l’occasion de voir leur pièce jouée deux fois, au Canada et dans le pays partenaire.

Jusqu’à maintenant, nous avons soutenu nos compositeurs par tous les moyens possibles, cherchant différentes sources de financement pour le Composer’s Kitchen. Notre but ultime est de fournir un financement complet aux compositeurs qui couvrirait la scolarité, les frais de déplacement et de subsistance ainsi qu’une bourse.

Pour assurer la pérennité du Composer’s Kitchen, nous vous demandons de s’il-vous-plait contribuer généreusement à notre fonds de dotation, et d’ainsi participer à cette Recette du Succès!

Choisissez la force de votre contribution!

affettuoso Moins de 100$
grazioso 200$
spiritoso 300$
appassionato 400$
maestoso 500$
grandioso 1000$ et plus

De son côté, Mécénat Placements Culture, un programme de subvention de contrepartie du Ministère de la culture et des communications du Québec, nous offre une occasion unique de faire instantanément tripler la valeur des fonds amassés. En effet, pour chaque dollar versé, le MCC ajoutera deux dollars. Notre objectif est de réunir 30 000$ au 5 décembre 2016. Au total, nous espérons constituer un fonds de dotation spécialement pour le Composer’s Kitchen de 90 000$, grâce à votre généreux soutien.

Cette campagne est pour nous une occasion exceptionnelle de croissance et permettra d’insuffler une nouvelle énergie aux activités du Composer’s Kitchen. Ainsi, nous poursuivrons sereinement l’exploration de la création avec les artistes de la génération émergente.

Un grand merci, d’avance!

Petite histoire du Composer’s Kitchen

Depuis la première édition en 2005, 67 jeunes compositeurs et compositrices ont participé au Composer’s Kitchen.

  • 2005-2011: Atelier annuel à Montréal
  • 2011: Production de l’album double À chacun sa miniature, avec la musique de 31 anciens participants à l’atelier
  • 2012-2014: Partenariat avec le Huddersfield Contemporary Music Festival (RU), début de l’atelier bi-annuel
  • 2015: Partenariat avec Sound and Music (RU)
  • 2016: Partenariat avec Gaudeamus Muziekweek (Pays-Bas)
  • 2017: Partenariat avec Sound and Music (RU)

Comment donner

  • Faites votre contribution en ligne sur CanaDon.
    Faire un don maintenant par CanaDon.org!
  • Ou faites un don par chèque à:
    Quatuor Bozzini, 4814 Clark, Montréal (Québec), Canada, H2T 2T5