The Quartet

Since 1999, the Bozzini Quartet has been an original voice in new, experimental and classical music. Their skew is radically contemporary, propelling the hyper-creative Montréal scene, and beyond. Not content to parlay received wisdom, the quartet cultivates an ethos of risk-taking, and boldly venture off the beaten track. With rigorous qualitative criteria, they have nurtured a vastly diverse repertoire, unbiased by the currents of fashion.This has led to over a hundred and eighty commissioned pieces, as well as close to three hundred other premiered works. A Bozzini Quartet concert is an art happening, with meticulous and sensuous attention to detail.

The Bozzini Quartet produces and presents its annual concert series in Montréal. The group also tours extensively, bringing its “intense musicality and immense sensitivity” (Musicworks, Canada), to audiences across Canada, the US, South America and Europe. Notable festivals and venues include MärzMusik (Berlin), Ultima (Oslo), Huddersfield (UK), Klangspuren (Austria), Tsuda Hall (Tokyo), Musiekgebouw (Amsterdam), Présences (France), November Music (Netherlands), (Pays-Bas), Kortrijk (Belgique), Roulette (NY), Porgy&Bess (Vienne) and Other Minds (San Francisco) . To ensure continual development in their art, the quartet’s musical laboratories, the Composer’s Kitchen, Performer's Kitchen and Bozzini Lab, work to mentor and support new generations of composers and performers. The Bozzini Quartet records under its own label, the Collection QB, and can be heard regularly on European and Canadian radio. Finalist to the 28th Grand Prix du CAM 2012, the Bozzini Quartet has won three Opus prizes from the Conseil québécois de la musique (CQM): “International Outreach” (2007), “Contemporary Disc of the Year” (2004), and “Discovery of the Year” (2001). It is also the recipient of the Étoile-Galaxie Prize from Radio-Canada (2001), the Förderpreis Ernst von Siemens Musikstiftung (2007), the German Record Critics Prize for Arbor Vitae (2009) and the 2014 Friends of Canadian Music Award.

Clemens Merkel

Clemens Merkel’s unconventional sound defines a new sensibility in contemporary music, through its intimate purity of tone, its settled understanding of microtonal or unconventional harmonic language, and its unhurried sensitivity. He is well known for innovative interpretations of Bach and John Cage, and is sought after by composers worldwide as an inspiration for new repertoire. His diverse collaborators range from the Wandelweiser collective to Montréal’s Musique Actuelle community, and from emerging experimentalists to today’s most revered composers.

Stéphanie Bozzini

Stéphanie Bozzini is a founding member of the Bozzini Quartet, a new music string quartet which performs regularly in major festivals throughout Canada, the United States, Europe and South America. Her curiosity and interest in a number of musical styles, from historically informed period instrument playing to contemporary improvisation, have led her to become a remarkably versatile musician.

Isabelle Bozzini

A passionate chamber player, cellist Isabelle Bozzini is dedicated to exploring two parallel worlds — new music of all kinds and music on period instruments. This endeavour continuously challenges her and nourishes her artistic aspirations.

Alissa Cheung

“… classical music without pretence… ” is Alissa Cheung’s approach to her multi-faceted career. A native of Edmonton (Alberta) violinist and composer, Ms. Alissa Cheung (BSc ’07, BMus ’09, MM ’13), is a tenured member of the Edmonton Symphony Orchestra (ESO) since 2010 and will move to Montréal in January 2015 to join the Bozzini Quartet.

Le Quatuor

Depuis sa fondation à Montréal en 1999, le Quatuor Bozzini œuvre dans les domaines des musiques nouvelle, expérimentale et classique. Ensemble radicalement contemporain dans un milieu en extrême effervescence, il cultive le sens du risque et emprunte résolument les voies moins fréquentées, rejetant d’emblée les idées reçues. Le Quatuor Bozzini se démarque par un jeu souple et un grand souci du détail; il offre à ses auditeurs des prestations brillantes et rigoureuses dans une atmosphère toujours inspirante. Construisant avec soin un répertoire diversifié qui ne cède jamais à la facilité ou aux modes, il a commandé au fil des ans plus de cent quatre-vingt œuvres et en a créé près de trois cents.

Loué pour son «intense musicalité et son immense sensibilité» (Musicworks, Canada), le Quatuor Bozzini présente annuellement une série de concerts à Montréal et fait des tournées au Canada, aux États-Unis, en Amérique du Sud et en Europe. Il est invité par d’éminents festivals et séries tels que MärzMusik (Berlin), Ultima (Oslo), Huddersfield (Angleterre), Klangspuren (Autriche), Tsuda Hall (Tokyo), Musiekgebouw (Amsterdam), Présences (France), November Music (Pays-Bas), Kortrijk (Belgique), Roulette (NY), Porgy&Bess (Vienne) et Other Minds (San Francisco). Attentif au développement de sa discipline, le quatuor soutient également les artistes de la relève avec ses «laboratoires» musicaux, le Composer’s Kitchen, le Bozzini Lab et le Performer’s Kitchen. Il enregistre des disques sous sa propre étiquette, la Collection QB et on peut aussi l’entendre régulièrement sur les ondes de radios européennes et canadiennes. Finaliste au 28e Grand Prix du CAM 2012, le Quatuor Bozzini a reçu trois prix Opus du Conseil québécois de la musique: «Rayonnement à l’étranger» (2007), «Disque de l’année, contemporain» (2004) «Découverte de l’année» (2001). Il est aussi récipiendaire du Prix Étoile-Galaxie de Radio-Canada (2001), du Förderpreis de la Siemens Musikstiftung (2007), du Prix de la critique de disques allemande Choix du trimestre, pour Arbor Vitae (2009) et du Prix des amis de la musique canadienne (2014).

Clemens Merkel

Le violoniste Clemens Merkel est considéré comme un des interprètes les plus versatiles sur la scène de la musique contemporaine. Soliste et chambriste, il se produit régulièrement en concert et à de nombreux festivals aussi bien en Allemagne qu’en Europe et en Amérique du Nord, en intégrant à son répertoire une grande variété de styles musicaux.

Stéphanie Bozzini

Stéphanie Bozzini est membre du Quatuor Bozzini, un groupe qui se produit régulièrement dans des festivals prestigieux au Canada, aux États-Unis, en Europe et en Amérique du Sud. Sa curiosité et son intérêt pour de nombreux styles musicaux, de la musique sur instrument d’époque à la musique improvisée, font d’elle une altiste des plus polyvalentes.

Isabelle Bozzini

Chambriste passionnée, la violoncelliste Isabelle Bozzini se dédie à deux mondes parallèles: les musiques nouvelles de tout acabit et la musique sur instrument d’époque. Cette entreprise constitue un défi de tous les instants et nourrit pleinement ses aspirations artistiques.

Alissa Cheung

«… la musique classique sans prétexte… » décrit l’approche d’Alissa Cheung envers sa carrière multidisciplinaire. Née à Edmonton (Alberta) violoniste et compositrice, Alissa Cheung (BSc 2007, BMus 2009, MM 2013) est membre du Edmonton Symphony Orchestra (ESO) depuis 2010, et elle déménagera à Montréal en janvier 2015 pour devenir membre du Quatuor Bozzini.