Biography

Isabelle Bozzini

  • Montréal, Québec, 1969
  • Performer (cello)

A passionate chamber player, cellist Isabelle Bozzini is dedicated to exploring two parallel worlds — new music of all kinds and music on period instruments. This endeavour continuously challenges her and nourishes her artistic aspirations.

She is a founding member of the Quatuor Bozzini which since its inception in 1999 has become one of Canada’s leading string quartets on national and international scenes. Playing close to forty concerts per year, the Bozzinis produce their own concert series in Montréal including the Salon des compositeurs + Composer’s Kitchen event. They tour several times per year in Europe, the US and Canada and have launched the label collection qb in the Fall of 2004 in collaboration with DAME. Isabelle Bozzini also works with Kore Ensemble, and various improvising artists such as Malcolm Goldstein, François Houle, Benoît Delbecq, Diane Labrosse and Jean Derome. Having collaborated for many years with Joël Thiffault and the Montréal Baroque Orchestra, Isabelle Bozzini now plays regularly with Ensemble Arion. She also plays with Idées Heureuses, Ensemble Caprice, the Studio de Musique Ancienne de Montréal, and French harpsichordist and conductor Hervé Niquet.

[source: www.quatuorbozzini.ca] [vi-08]

On Disc

  • “It has been my conviction for a number of years that Music (and Art in general) must simply assume the humble task of describing its own end, or at any rate its gradual extinction,” wrote Italian maestro Aldo Clementi (1925—2011) in 1973…
  • The string quartet sounds sometimes like the silence of a square, a room, a wall or a landscape…
  • A new vision of John Cage, via his complete works for string quartet…
  • A vibrant portrait of the state of the art in Canadian new music…
  • I think of my fundamental activity as a musician as listening, especially to music…
  • Sehr langsam “Very slow” — a tempo indication, as well as the title of this piece…
  • Le Mensonge et l’Identité, written with four hands by the duo Derome/Hétu, was premiered at Deutschlandfunk’s Forum Neue Musik in 2008…
  • Bozzini Quartet joins forces with composer Michel Gonneville for a unique contemporary opera on the “hot” issue of the ecological crisis, based on the thoughts of eminent Quebecois ecologist Pierre Dansereau…
  • The sixth volume of the collection, Arbor Vitæ, pays homage to the Canadian-American composer James Tenney with performances of the complete quartets and quintets…
  • Two contemporary artists, each strong and distinct…
  • “Material can be anonymous…
  • On October 13th, 2005 DAME is proud to present the second Collection QB release: Different Trains by Steve Reich performed by Bozzini Quartet…
  • Moving freely from avant-garde events to traditional concerts, the Bozzini Quartet was characterized by the Irish Times as a “group which gets its teeth into music: quiet or loud, fast or slow, these Canadian musicians play with compelling engagement…

Biographie

Isabelle Bozzini

  • Montréal, Québec, 1969
  • Interprète (violoncelle)

Chambriste passionnée, la violoncelliste Isabelle Bozzini se dédie à deux mondes parallèles: les musiques nouvelles de tout acabit et la musique sur instrument d’époque. Cette entreprise constitue un défi de tous les instants et nourrit pleinement ses aspirations artistiques.

Elle est membre-fondatrice et codirectrice du Quatuor Bozzini, groupe qui se distingue parmi les quatuors à cordes canadiens depuis 1999, tant sur la scène nationale qu’internationale. Présentant près d’une quarantaine de concerts par année, les Bozzinis produisent leur propre série montréalaise incluant l’événement Salon des compositeurs + Composer’s Kitchen. Ils tournent régulièrement en Europe, aux États-Unis et au Canada, et ont lancé l’étiquette de disque collection qb à l’automne 2004 en collaboration avec DAME. Isabelle Bozzini joue également avec l’Ensemble Kore, ainsi qu’à l’occasion avec des musiciens improvisateurs comme Malcolm Goldstein, François Houle, Benoît Delbecq, Diane Labrosse ou Jean Derome. Engagée en musique sur instruments d’époque, elle a longtemps travaillé avec Joël Thiffault et l’Orchestre Baroque de Montréal et joue maintenant principalement avec l’Ensemble Arion. Elle travaille aussi avec les Idées Heureuses, l’Ensemble Caprice, le Studio de musique ancienne de Montréal et le claveciniste et chef français Hervé Niquet.

[source: www.quatuorbozzini.ca] [vi-08]

Disques

  • The first in the Canadian Composers Series of CDs is a double album of chamber works by Linda Catlin Smith, who was born in New York, but studied in Canada and has lived in Toronto for over 25 years…
  • Les cinq œuvres sur cet album couvrent une période d’environ vingt ans: Lullaby a été écrite en 1991 et fall en 2013…
  • «Depuis plusieurs années, je reste convaincu que la musique (et l’art en général) doit simplement assumer l’humble tâche d’exprimer sa propre fin, ou en tous les cas son extinction progressive», écrivait en 1973 le compositeur italien Aldo Clementi (1925-2011)…
  • The string quartet sounds sometimes like the silence of a square, a room, a wall or a landscape…
  • Une nouvelle vision de l’œuvre complète pour quatuor à cordes de John Cage…
  • Un vibrant portrait à la fine pointe de la nouvelle musique canadienne…
  • Je crois que mon activité fondamentale en tant que musicien est l’écoute, particulièrement celle de la musique…
  • Sehr langsam «Très lentement»: ces mots indiquent à la fois le tempo, le titre et le caractère de la pièce qui demande à ses auditeurs patience et concentration…
  • Cette partition, écrite à quatre mains par le duo Derome-Hétu, a été commandée et créée en 2008, dans le cadre du Forum Neue Musik 08 de la Deutschlandfunk, par le Quatuor Bozzini, une célèbre famille de cordes dont l’engagement dans la création n’est plus à défendre…
  • Le Quatuor Bozzini s’unit au compositeur Michel Gonneville pour créer un opéra contemporain unique sur le thème «chaud» de la crise écologique, inspiré par les réflexions de l’éminent écologiste québécois Pierre Dansereau…
  • Sixième volume de la collection, Arbor Vitæ rend hommage au compositeur canado-américain James Tenney en réunissant dans un même opus l’intégrale de ses quatuors et quintettes…
  • Deux voix fortes et distinctes: du long déploiement des canons de Skempton aux hoquets immuables de Kondo…
  • «Le matériau peut être anonyme…
  • DAME est fière de présenter le 13 octobre 2005 le deuxième titre de la Collection QB — Different Trains de Steve Reich interprétée par le Quatuor Bozzini…
  • Voguant librement entre l’événement d’avant-garde et le concert traditionnel, le Quatuor Bozzini est un groupe qui mord dans la musique à pleines dents et joue avec une passion irrésistible, selon le Irish Times…