Biography

John Cage

  • Los Angeles, California, USA, 1912 — New York City, New York, USA, 1992
  • Composer • Performer (piano)

Composer John Cage was also a philosopher, a writer, and a printmaker, among other things, and a leading figure of the post-war avant-garde in America. He is considered the most influential American composer of the 20th Century. His composition teachers included Henry Cowell (1933) and Arnold Schoenberg (1933-35). In 1937, he formed a percussion orchestra in Seattle, something he did later in San Francisco, Chicago and New York, where he finally established himself in 1942. He was instrumental in the development of modern dance, and worked for a long time as the musical director of the Merce Cunningham Company. He worked as well in the visual art field, in particular with Jasper Johns.

John Cage was a restless explorer and an innovator, always looking for new sounds. He invented the “prepared piano” (a piano with its sound altered by placing various objects in the strings) and used many uncommon instruments (such as tin cans or blenders); he very soon included electric and electronic sounds in his compositions, and gave the notion of silence in music a completely new meaning by composing a work (4’33”), in 1952, where the three movements are performed without a single note being played. His compositional techniques are based upon chance and the non-intentionality of the creator, thus giving the musicians a great freedom for interpretation.

His artistic thought made a big impact on contemporary music: his studies of Indian philosophy and Zen Buddhism encouraged him to completely dismiss the dogmatism of Western rationality. Many observers assert that Cage was more of a creator (in the wide acceptation on the word) than a traditional composer.

[source: www.quatuorbozzini.ca] [i-09]

On Disc

  • A new vision of John Cage, via his complete works for string quartet…
  • A new vision of John Cage, via his complete works for string quartet…

Biographie

John Cage

  • Los Angeles, Californie, ÉU, 1912 — New York, New York, ÉU, 1992
  • Compositeur • Interprète (piano)

Longtemps associé à l’avant-garde américaine de l’après-guerre, le compositeur John Cage était aussi, entre autres, philosophe, écrivain et graveur; il est considéré comme le compositeur américain le plus influent de sa génération. Il a été l’élève d’Henri Cowell (1933) à New York, puis d’Arnold Schoenberg, en Californie (1933-35). En 1937, il forme un premier orchestre de percussions à Seattle, puis à San Francisco, à Chicago et enfin à New York, où il se fixe en 1942. Il participe au développement de la danse moderne en étant, pendant de nombreuses années, le directeur musical de la compagnie du chorégraphe Merce Cunnigham. Également actif dans le domaine des arts visuels, il collabore notamment, avec Jasper Johns.

John Cage a toujours exploré et innové: à la recherche de sonorités nouvelles, il a inventé le piano «préparé» (dont il altère le son en plaçant divers objets sur et entre ses cordes) et a utilisé plusieurs instruments inusités (comme les boîtes de conserve ou le mélangeur). Il intègre rapidement les sons électriques et électroniques dans ses compositions et donne à la notion de silence musical une nouvelle dimension en composant, en 1952, une œuvre en trois mouvements («4 minutes 33 secondes») au cours de laquelle aucune note n’est jouée. Ses techniques compositionnelles basées sur l’aléatoire (l’indétermination) et la non-intentionnalité du créateur laissent aux musiciens une grande liberté dans l’interprétation.

Sa pensée artistique a eu un impact considérable sur la musique contemporaine: nourri de philosophie indienne et bouddhiste zen, il a totalement rejeté les dogmes de la rationalité occidentale, ce qui fait dire à certains que John Cage était davantage un créateur au sens large qu’un compositeur traditionnel.

[source: www.quatuorbozzini.ca] [i-09]

Disques

  • Une nouvelle vision de l’œuvre complète pour quatuor à cordes de John Cage…
  • Une nouvelle vision de l’œuvre complète pour quatuor à cordes de John Cage…