Biography

Beavan Flanagan

  • Composer

Beavan Flanagan is a composer and pianist/keyboardist from Montreal, Canada. His music has been performed in Canada, Norway (Oslo, part of the Norwegian-Canadian New Music Conference) and London, England (Northern Breeze Mini-Festival), by ensembles and performers such as the Nouvel Ensemble Moderne and Canadian violinist Mira Benjamin. Current projects include a 2011-12 residency with Montréal’s Portmantô Ensemble, as well a participation in the Bozzini Quartet’s annual Composer’s Kitchen workshop. Beavan is the winner of two SOCAN Foundation awards, including the 2011 John Weinzweig Grand Prize for his string trio L’Essence perd son sens. Most recently his music has been nominated for the 2012 International Gaudeamus Prize in the Netherlands; the winner will be announced in September 2011 in Utrecht, where his music will be performed during the Gaudeamus Muziekweek.

As a jazz pianist, he is a regular performer at venues around Montréal and Toronto including the Upstairs jazz bar and the Rex, Toronto’s premier jazz venue. His quintet, Atomic 5, released their debut album in March 2011 on the Effendi label. They have been regular performers at the Montreal International Jazz Festival.

He is also a member of the electro-pop/spaceship trio Lasermagiclaser, whose music is composed, produced and performed by himself (aka Ben Livingston) and his fellow bandmates (Dallas Nostromo, Nikläs Langsamer). Their debut album was launched in September 2011.

[source: www.quatuorbozzini.ca] [v-12]

Biographie

Beavan Flanagan

  • Compositeur

Beavan Flanagan est un compositeur et pianiste/claviériste de Montréal, Canada. Sa musique a été interprétée au Canada, en Norvège (Oslo, conférence nu:nord) et à Londres (Northern Breeze Mini-Festival), par des ensembles et des interprètes tels le Nouvel Ensemble Moderne et la violiniste canadienne Mira Benjamin. En 2011-12 il est compositeur en résidence avec le Portmantô Ensemble de Montréal; il participe également à l’atelier Composer’s Kitchen du quatuor Bozzini. Beavan est récipiendaire de deux prix de la Fondation SOCAN en 2011, incluant le grand prix John Weinzweig pour son trio à cordes L’Essence perd son sens. Il est présentement en nomination pour le prix international Gaudeamus au Pays-Bas; le gagnant sera annoncé en septembre 2012 à Utrecht, ou sa musique sera interprétée dans le cadre du Gaudeamus Muziekweek.

Pianiste de jazz, il se présente régulièrement dans les salles de Montréal et Toronto, incluant le Upstairs jazz bar et le Rex. Son quintette Atomic 5 ont lancé leur premier album en mars 2011 sous l’étiquette Effendi. Ils se présentent à plusieurs reprises lors du Festival International de Jazz de Montréal.

Il est également membre du trio électro-pop/spaceship Lasermagiclaser, groupe pour lequel il compose, produit et interprète la musique avec ses co-sentinelles de l’espace Dallas Nostromo et Nikläs Langsamer. Leur premier album a été lancé en Septembre 2011.

[source: www.quatuorbozzini.ca] [v-12]