Biography

Ghislain Lecroulant

  • Paris, France, 1983
  • Composer

French-born composer Ghislain Lecroulant is now living in Montréal where he obtained a Bachelor’s degree in Music Composition from the University of Montréal under the guidance of Dr Michel Longtin in 2006, and a Master’s degree in Film Scoring from the University of Québec in Montréal under the guidance of film composer Jutra & Genie Awards nominee Pierre Desrocher in 2008. During his Bachelor’s studies, he won a first prize of composition with Ouverture 1915, which is still performed for each graduation ceremony of the University of Montréal.

He composed the score of many documentaries and short-films including Le Voile Révélateur, directed by Jean-Pierre Guyot and broadcasted on TV5 Canada; Regard, directed by Mehdi Benboubakeur and broadcasted on Radio-Canada; Couleurs d’Ici, directed by Emilie Gauthier and broadcasted on Vox; and A Very Long Weekend, directed by Sandra Coppola and broadcasted on Arte (Europe). This last film won the first prize Norman McLaren from the World Film Festival of Montréal 2007 with a special mention of the jury for the music score. These collaborations gave him the opportunity to record in some of the most famous studios in Montréal like Piccolo Studios, the National Film Board of Canada an RCA Victor Studios.

Versatility is Ghislain’s strongest asset and he is comfortable in composing, arranging and performing in various musical styles, writing for large ensemble or midi programming, from pop, electro, to jazz, world music, with knowledgeable orchestral writing. Among other things, in 2008 he made the artistic direction for Bambara Trans’ album Khalouna (CBC/Radio Canada world music revelation 2010-11). In 2009, he was musical director of the opening/closing shows of the Vue Sur La Relève 2009 festival, a major spotlight in Québec for the young professional artists. In 2010 he participated in the Composer’s Kitchen workshop of the Quatuor Bozzini, and the Composing for Film and Television workshop sponsored by the Québec Council of Music.

Since 2007, clients and broadcasters include: Les 7 Doigts de la Main, Créations Etc., Studio 408, Urbania, Cinéfilms C.S.C, Oracle Communication, UQAM, Université de Montréal, TV5 Canada, Radio Canada, Arte, Vox, Télé Québec, Musique Multi-Montréal, Nuits d’Afrique, Festival International de Jazz de Montréal, Les productions Bambara Trans, Quatuor Bozzini, MK2.

On stage Ghislain has performed with many artists including: Hakim Salhi, Hassan Boussou, Bambara Trans, Tomas Jensen, Kevin Thompson, Nico Lelièvre, Naïla, Evan Parker, Jean-Marc Bouchard, Milky Runners, Advaar Ensemble, Hassan El Hadi, Wesli Band, Salaam, Syncop.

[source: www.quatuorbozzini.ca] [x-10]

Biographie

Ghislain Lecroulant

  • Paris, France, 1983
  • Compositeur

Originaire de France et installé à Montréal, Ghislain Lecroulant a terminé un baccalauréat en Composition instrumentale à l’Université de Montréal sous la direction de Michel Longtin, ainsi qu’un DESS en Musique de film à l’Université du Québec à Montréal sous la direction de Pierre Desrochers, sélectionné aux prix Jutra et les prix Génie. Au cours de son baccalauréat, il remporte un premier prix de composition pour l’écriture de la pièce Ouverture 1915, qui est jouée depuis lors de chaque remise des diplômes de l’Université de Montréal.

Il a signé la musique de nombreux documentaires et courts-métrages, notamment Le Voile révélateur de Jean-Pierre Guyot pour TV5; Regard de Mehdi Benboubakeur pour Radio-Canada; Couleurs d’ici d’Émilie Gauthier pour Vox; ou encore Un Week-End à la Campagne de Sandra Coppola pour Arte (Europe). Ce dernier film a remporté le 1er prix Norman McLaren du Festival des Films du Monde 2007 avec une mention spéciale du jury pour la musique. Ces collaborations lui ont permis de fréquenter les studios les plus réputés de Montréal comme le Studio Piccolo, l’Office national du film du Canada et le studio RCA Victor.

L’écriture musicale de Ghislain est extrêmement polyvalente et l’amène à être à l’aise comme compositeur/arrangeur et claviériste dans des styles très différents, allant de l’écriture pour de larges ensembles à la programmation midi, du pop et de l’électro au jazz et à la musique du monde, toujours soutenu par une solide écriture orchestrale. En 2008 il a réalisé, notamment, l’album Khalouna du groupe Bambara Trans (Révélation CBC/Radio Canada Musique du Monde 2010-11). En 2009, il a assuré la direction musicale des spectacles d’ouverture et de fermeture du festival Vue sur la relève 2009, un événement majeur pour les jeunes professionnels des arts de la scène au Québec. En 2010 il participe au Composer’s Kitchen du Quatuor Bozzini, et à l’atelier Composer pour le cinéma et la télévision du Conseil québécois de la musique.

Depuis 2007, il a collaboré avec des clients et des diffuseurs tels que Les 7 doigts de la main, Créations etc, Studio 408, Urbania, Cinéfilms C.S.C, Oracle Communication, UQAM, Université de Montréal, TV5 Canada, Radio-Canada, Arte, Vox, Télé Québec, Musique Multi-Montréal, Nuits d’Afrique, Festival international de jazz de Montréal, Les productions Bambara Trans, Quatuor Bozzini, MK2.

Il a également partagé la scène avec, entre autres, Hakim Salhi, Hassan Boussou, Tomas Jensen, Kevin Thompson, Nico Lelièvre, Naïla, Evan Parker, Jean-Marc Bouchard, Milky Runners, Ensemble Advaar, Hassan El Hadi, Bambara Trans, Wesli Band, Salaam, Syncop.

[source: www.quatuorbozzini.ca] [x-10]