Biography

Luc Marcel

  • Charlemagne, Québec, 1962
  • Composer

Luc Marcel comes from Charlemagne, Québec. His works have been performed by various ensembles in Canada, the US, and Europe. In February 1999, the Winnipeg Symphony Orchestra premiered his work Pastel while Die Reihe in Vienna premiered his Asile. Modèle 312 was premiered in November 1999 at the American Festival of Microtonal Music in New York.

Luc Marcel has received several commissions, the most recent ones being from Nouvel Ensemble Moderne, Toronto-based ensemble Continuum, and the Winnipeg Symphony Orchestra. He has also composed music for Montréal choreographer Paul-André Fortier (Entre la mémoire et l’oubli, premiered in Montréal in 1995 by Montréal Danse and SMCQ) and Toronto choreographer Bill James (Wind). The latter work has been recorded in New York by the Chronos Saxophone Quartet. His music has also been performed by Arraymusic (Toronto), St-X Ensemble Xenakis, Ensemble Solange, and Johnny Reinard & Ensemble (New York).

Luc Marcel was one of nineteen composers to work on Symphonie du Millénaire, a work for 333 musicians, 2,000 bellringers, 15 church steeples, one church organ, one 56-bell set of chimes, and two fire trucks, performed on June 3, 2000 on the grounds of Oratoire Saint-Joseph (Montréal). This unusual performance was attended by a crowd of 40,000.

[ii-09]

Biographie

Luc Marcel

  • Charlemagne, Québec, 1962
  • Compositeur

Luc Marcel est né à Charlemagne, au Québec. Ses œuvres ont été jouées par divers ensembles, tant au Canada et aux États-Unis qu’en Europe. En février 1999, l’Orchestre symphonique de Winnipeg créait Pastel et le Die Reihe de Vienne créait Asile. Modèle 312 a été créée en novembre 1999 à l’American Festival of Microtonal Music de New York.

Luc Marcel a reçu de nombreuses commandes, les plus récentes provenant du Nouvel Ensemble Moderne, de l’ensemble torontois Continuum et de l’Orchestre symphonique de Winnipeg. Il a également écrit de la musique pour les chorégraphes Paul-André Fortier (Entre la mémoire et l’oubli, créée à Montréal en 1995 par Montréal Danse et la SMCQ) et le Torontois Bill James (Wind). Cette dernière oeuvre a été enregistrée à New York par le Chronos Saxophone Quartet. Ont également joué ses œuvres, Arraymusic (Toronto), St-X Ensemble Xenakis, Ensemble Solange et Johnny Reinard & Ensemble (New York).

Luc Marcel était l’un des dix-neuf compositeurs à collaborer à la Symphonie du Millénaire, œuvre écrite pour 333 musiciens, 2000 carillonneurs, 15 clochers, un grand orgue, un carillon de 56 cloches et deux camions de pompiers, présentée sur le site de l’Oratoire St-Joseph de Montréal le 3 juin 2000. Plus de 40 000 auditeurs ont assisté à cette création inusitée.

[ii-09]