Biography

Markus Trunk

  • Mannheim, Germany, 1962
  • Composer

Studied composition in Karlsruhe (Mathias Spahlinger, Walter Zimmermann) and at Wesleyan University in Connecticut (Alvin Lucier). Resident in London since 1996. Received a PhD in Musical Composition from Birmingham University in 2001 (supervisor: Vic Hoyland).

Performances in many European countries and at the ISCM World Music Days, the Bang on a Can Festival (New York) and the interdisciplinary conference ‘Acoustic Turn’ in Salzau near Kiel. On a clear day for large orchestra, a commission from Hessischer Rundfunk Frankfurt, was performed in 2001 by the BBC Symphony Orchestra.

Recipient of fellowships and funding from the DAAD, the Heinrich Strobel Foundation and the British Academy. Co-organiser of Music we’d like to hear, an ongoing series of curated concerts of experimental music in London.

[xi-07]

Biographie

Markus Trunk

  • Mannheim, Allemagne, 1962
  • Compositeur

Markus Trunk a étudié la composition à Karlsruhe avec Mathias Spahlinger et Walter Zimmermann, ainsi qu’à l’université Wesleyan au Connecticut avec Alvin Lucier. Il habite Londres depuis 1996. En 2001, il obtient un doctorat en composition de l’université de Birmingham, sous la direction de Vic Hoyland.

Ses œuvres sont jouées un peu partout en Europe ainsi qu’aux ISCM World Music Days, au festival Bang on Can à New York et à la conférence interdisciplinaire Acoustic Turn à Salzau près de Kiel. Son œuvre On a clear day pour grand orchestre, une commande de la Hessischer Rundfunk Frankfurt, a été jouée en 2001 par l’orchestre symphonique de la BBC.

Trunk est récipiendaire de diverses bourses accordées par le DAAD, la fondation Heinrich Strobel et la British Academy. Il est également codirecteur de la série de concerts de musique expérimentale londonienne Music we’d like to hear.

[xi-07]