News Item

To the Four Corners of the World: Canada, Japan, Scandinavia, Great Britain!

Wednesday, September 27, 2006

Seventh Season (2006-2007)

Montréal, Monday, October 2, 2006 — Under the theme “Mots croisés” (crosswords), the Bozzini Quartet once again offers up a wonderful combination of the Classics and the Moderns. For the 2006-2007 season, the concerts will pair three quartets by Franz Schubert with contemporary works from Japan (October 20, 2006), Scandinavia (December 12, 2006), and Great Britain (March 15, 2007). The concert of October 20 proposes works by Chiyoko Szlavnics, Jo Kondo, and Franz Schubert.

After having put the Classics on hold for the 2005-2006 season, the Bozzini Quartet gladly delves into the world of that great melodist, Franz Schubert. The Montréal concert series begins with his Quartettsatz D.703 (1820), a real gem from the string quartet repertoire. It was intended as the first movement of a sadly unfinished twelfth quartet.

Commissioned by the Bozzini Quartet, Gradients of Detail (2005) by the Canadian composer of Japanese origin Chiyoko Szlavnics was premiered at the Berlin MaerzMusik festival in March 2006. Her composition unfolds in long, sinuous arcs, shifting between stillness and movement. Listening to this work could be compared to examining a painting under a microscope, paying special attention to minute details such as the texture of the paints and the hues of the pigments.

Following a recording of quartets by Jo Kondo and Howard Skempton for the Deutschlandfunk (DLF) in Cologne, the Bozzini Quartet will perform in Montréal the Japanese composer’s three quartets. Principally interested in the musical objects of composition, his music is characterized among other things by timbral differences and the use of hoquets. The title Hypsotony (1989) invented by Kondo is a combination of the Greek words for height and sound. The idea of raising the pitch is manifested by rising glissandi (of roughly 1/4 tone) on each note played by the instrumentalists. In Mr. Bloomfield, His Spacing (1973), the musicians use gongs to punctuate the musical phrases, first within heterophonic textures, then in independent lines. Fern (1990) sees the composer experimenting with the juxtaposition of several short sections or fragments in order to create a static form.

The Bozzini Quartet

Moving freely from avant-garde events to traditional concerts, the Bozzini Quartet, “Discovery of the year” at the Prix Opus 2001, presents around forty concerts a year. Devoted to music as a universal language, these four young artists communicate an aesthetics that transcends the tastes of any particular era or musical tradition; playing music that is famous and music that is unknown, music familiar and music strange, music old and music new. The group especially enjoys collaborations with living composers, premiering quartets by Christian Wolff, Michael Oesterle, Malcolm Goldstein, Gerald Barry, Tom Johnson, Jean Lesage, and many others.

— 30 —

Nouvelle

Aux quatre coins du monde: Canada, Japon, Scandinavie, Grande-Bretagne!

Mercredi 27 septembre 2006

Septième saison (2006-2007)

Montréal, le mercredi 27 septembre 2006 — Sous le thème «Mots croisés», le Quatuor Bozzini vous propose à nouveau de goûter à la combinaison des classiques et des modernes. Pour 2006-2007, les concerts mettront en parallèle trois quatuors de Franz Schubert avec les œuvres de compositeurs contemporains du Japon (le 20 octobre 2006), de la Scandinavie (le 12 décembre 2006) et de la Grande-Bretagne (le 15 mars 2007). Au menu le 20 octobre, des œuvres de Chiyoko Szlavnics, Jo Kondo et Franz Schubert.

Ayant mis ses classiques en veilleuse pour la saison 2005-06, le Quatuor Bozzini explore avec grand bonheur l’univers du mélodiste Franz Schubert. Il entame sa série montréalaise avec le Quartettsatz D703 (1820), petit bijou du répertoire de quatuor à cordes. Cette pièce représente le 1er mouvement d’un 12e quatuor à cordes que Schubert laissa inachevé.

Commande du Quatuor Bozzini à la compositrice canadienne d’origine japonaise Chiyoko Szlavnics, la pièce Gradients of Detail (2005) a été jouée une première fois au festival MaerzMusik de Berlin en mars 2006. La musique se déploie en de longs et sinueux contours, variant entre l’immobile et le mouvement. L’expérience d’écoute de cette œuvre est comparable à celle de quelqu’un scrutant au microscope une peinture, en prenant conscience de minuscules détails comme la texture de la peinture ou la couleur du pigment.

Suite à un enregistrement des quatuors de Jo Kondo et Howard Skempton pour la Deutschlandfunk (DLF) à Cologne, le Quatuor Bozzini joue pour le 1er concert de la série montréalaise les trois quatuors du compositeur japonais. Intéressé principalement par les objets musicaux en composition, sa musique se caractérise entre autres par de fortes différences de timbres et l’utilisation de hoquets. Le titre Hypsotony (1989) inventé par Kondo est une combinaison des mots grecs pour hauteur et son. L’idée d‘élever le son se manifeste par des glissandos ascendants (d’environ 1/4 de ton) sur chaque note jouée par les instrumentistes. Dans Mr. Bloomfield, His Spacing (1973), les instrumentistes utilisent des gongs pour ponctuer les phrases, d’abord à l’intérieur d’une texture hétérophonique puis, en des lignes indépendantes. Avec la pièce Fern (1990), le compositeur expérimente la juxtaposition de plusieurs courtes sections ou fragments dans le but de créer une forme statique.

Le Quatuor Bozzini

Voguant librement entre l’événement d’avant-garde et le concert traditionnel, le Quatuor Bozzini, élu «Découverte de l’Année» aux Prix Opus 2001, présente une quarantaine de concerts par année. Profondément dévoués à la musique comme langage universel, ces quatre jeunes artistes communiquent avec ferveur leur esthétique musicale, à l’aide de musiques qui traversent le temps et l’espace; musique ancienne ou nouvelle, célèbre ou méconnue, étrange ou familière. Ils affectionnent particulièrement les collaborations avec des compositeurs de notre temps, créant entre autres des œuvres de Christian Wolff, Michael Oesterle, Malcolm Goldstein, Gerald Barry, Tom Johnson et Jean Lesage.

— 30 —