Work

Streichquartett Nr. 11 F-Moll, op 95, op 95 (1810)

Ludwig van Beethoven

string quartet

Movements

  • 1. Allegro con brio
  • 2. Allegretto ma non troppo
  • 3. Allegro assai vivace ma serioso
  • 4. Larghetto espressivo-Allegretto agitato

Program Notes

Beethoven was involved in the string quartet medium troughtout his creative life. He composed 16 string quartets, and these works comprise one of the most remarkable achievements in music history. He began working on his first quartets in 1798.

In 1801, only one year after he finished the Op. 18 Quartets, Beethoven experienced a crisis of tragic proportions: he was becoming deaf. This appears to have been the catalyst that propelled him to creative maturity. As his shift in style asserted itself and the revolutionary advance in his art was consolidated, the symptoms themselves receded for him into a different perspective and were no longer the subject of lamentation. There is a note on one of Beethoven’s sketches for the Op. 59 Quartets which states: «let your deafness no longer be a secret-even in art».

The Quartet in F-minor, Op. 95, is a pivotal work. Last of the five middle-period quartets, it was written in 1810 but not published until 1816. In many ways this piece points directly toward the famous last five quartets, even though a gap of fourteen years separates Op. 95 from Op. 127. As so often in the late quartets, Beethoven here too constructs his work from the tiniest scraps of material, combining and extending these bits in amazing fashion. The Quartet in F-minor Op. 95 is the most concise work in the conventional canon of Beethoven quartets.What makes Op. 95 unique is the way Beethoven suggests the expansive nature of the last quartets within a compact overall structure.

Jacques-André Houle

Œuvre

Streichquartett Nr. 11 F-Moll, op 95, op 95 (1810)

Ludwig van Beethoven

quatuor à cordes

Mouvements

  • 1. Allegro con brio
  • 2. Allegretto ma non troppo
  • 3. Allegro assai vivace ma serioso
  • 4. Larghetto espressivo-Allegretto agitato

Notes de programme

Le quatuor à cordes comme genre musical a occupé une place importante tout au long de l’activité créatrice de Beethoven. Il composa 16 quatuors à cordes et ces œuvres représentent une des plus grandes réussites dans toute l’histoire de la musique.

Il commença la composition de ses quatuors en 1798. En 1801, une année seulement après qu’il eut terminé les quatuors de l’Op. 18, Beethoven dut faire face à un événement tragique: il commençait à faire l’expérience de la surdité. Par un retournement paradoxal, cette expérience semble avoir été un catalyseur qui le propulsa vers une plus grande maturité créatrice et de plus hauts sommets. Au fur et à mesure que son style se transformait et qu’il consolidait ses avancées révolutionnaires, les symptômes de son infortune furent assumés dans une perspective nouvelle et ne furent plus l’objet de lamentations. Dans ses esquisses pour les quatuors de l’Op. 59, on retrouve cette note de la main de Beethoven: «Que ta surdité ne soit plus un secret, même dans l’art».

Le Quatuor en fa mineur Op. 95 est une œuvre charnière. Dernier de la «deuxième période» des quatuors, il a été composé en 1810 mais publié seulement en 1816. Écrit quatorze années avant le quatuor Op. 127, cette œuvre annonce sous plusieurs aspects les quatuors de la «dernière période». Comme avec les derniers quatuors, Beethoven construit cette musique à partir de petits motifs, en les combinant et développant de manières variées. Le quatuor Op. 95 est le plus concis de tous ses quatuors. Ce qui le rend unique est la manière dont Beethoven suggère la grandeur des derniers quatuors tout en se confinant à une structure formelle compacte.

Jacques-André Houle