Work

String Quartet No. 11 in F minor • Quatuor à cordes no 11 en fa mineur, op 122, op 122 (1966)

Dmitri Shostakovich

string quartet

Movements

  • 1. Introduction — Andantino
  • 2. Scherzo — Allegretto
  • 3. Récitatif — Adagio
  • 4. Étude — Allegro
  • 5. Humoresque — Allegro
  • 6. Elégie — Adagio
  • 7. Conclusion — Moderato

Performances

Program Notes

Shostakovich was one of the twentieth century’s most important and prolific composers of symphonies and string quartets, leaving behind 15 works in both these categories. As was the case for most great composers, they were not however interchangeable genres; the string quartet was certainly not for Shostakovich a kind of chamber symphony. Although there exist great stylistic differences between the first and last of his symphonies and quartets, on the whole, the former show the composer confronted with his outside world (on a patriotic, historical or humanistic level), while the latter show him expressing his more inner world (ranging from the optimistic ingenuousness of his first quartet to the morbid bodings of his last). It is incidentally quite significant that his symphonic output was more concentrated in the first half of his career, while that of string quartets grew in prominence toward the end of his life.

The famous Russian string quartet, the Beethoven Quartet, was the greatest exponent of Shostakovich’s chamber music throughout his career. This was the ensemble that premiered all his string quartets save the first and last, for which they gave the second performance. Quartets Nos. 11 to 14 were each dedicated to one of the Beethoven Quartet’s founding members. String Quartet No. 11 in F minor, Op. 122 was dedicated to the original second violin, Vasili Pyotrovich Shirinsky, who had died shortly before its composition. The work was premiered on March 25, 1966 with Nikolai Zabavnikov as second violin.

Opus 122 presents itself as an uninterrupted succession of seven movements, all bearing the title of a form having marked the history of the genre. While it is the first violin who ushers in the Introduction as well as the Scherzo’s pregnant main theme, it is the second violin alone who very significantly bridges the (mortuary) Elegy and the Finale (recalling past material, in particular that dance-like theme from the Scherzo). Despite a certain sparseness in the overall scoring, the atmosphere—especially in the core of the work—is emotionally highly charged: note the initial violence of the Recitative, the nervous impetuousness of the Etude, the quasi-sardonic tone of the Humoresque, and the intense profundity of the Elegy.

Jacques-André Houle

Œuvre

Quatuor à cordes no 11 en fa mineur • String Quartet No. 11 in F minor, op 122, op 122 (1966)

Dmitri Chostakovitch

quatuor à cordes

Mouvements

  • 1. Introduction — Andantino
  • 2. Scherzo — Allegretto
  • 3. Récitatif — Adagio
  • 4. Étude — Allegro
  • 5. Humoresque — Allegro
  • 6. Elégie — Adagio
  • 7. Conclusion — Moderato

Exécutions

Notes de programme

Chostakovitch fut l’un des compositeurs du vingtième siècle les plus importants et prolifiques tant dans le domaine de la symphonie que dans celui du quatuor à cordes, nous laissant 15 œuvres dans ces deux catégories. Pour lui, comme pour presque tous les grands créateurs de symphonies et de quatuors, il ne s’agissait cependant pas là de genres quasi-interchangeables: en effet, pour Chostakovitch, le quatuor à cordes n’était pas une sorte de symphonie de chambre. Alors qu’un grand écart stylistique et de ton sépare les premières et dernières œuvres aussi bien symphoniques que de chambre, n’empêche que celles-là exposent l’homme face à son monde extérieur (patriotique, historique, humaniste) tandis que celles-ci se sont révélé une expression polyphonique du monde plus intime du compositeur (de l’ingénuité toute optimiste du premier quatuor à la morbidité du dernier, issu de la plume d’un créateur qui sent sa fin proche). Il est d’ailleurs assez significatif que la production de symphonies est plus concentrée en première moitié de carrière, et celle de quatuors, davantage dans ses dernières années.

Le célèbre quatuor à cordes russe, le Quatuor Beethoven, a été le grand champion de la musique de chambre de Chostakovitch tout au long de sa carrière. C’est cet ensemble qui a donné la deuxième exécution des premier et dernier quatuors et la première de toutes les autres. Les quatuors nos 11 à 14 sont tous dédiés à l’un des membres fondateurs du Quatuor Beethoven. Le Quatuor no 11 en fa mineur, op. 122 est dédié au second violon originel, Vasili Pyotrovich Shirinsky, décédé peu avant sa composition. L’œuvre a reçu sa première exécution le 25 mars 1966, avec comme second violon Nikolai Zabavnikov.

L’opus 122 se présente comme une succession ininterrompue de sept mouvements, tous portant le titre d’une forme marquante dans l’histoire du genre. Si c’est le premier violon qui ouvre l’Introduction, ainsi que le thème prégnant du Scherzo, c’est le second violon seul qui de manière très significative fait le pont entre l’Élégie (mortuaire) et le Finale (qui fait un rappel de matériaux passés, plus spécialement du thème dansant du Scherzo). Malgré une certaine limpidité d’écriture, l’atmosphère — en particulier du cœur de l’œuvre — est très chargée: notez la violence initiale du Récitatif, l’impétuosité nerveuse de l’Étude, le ton grinçant de l’Humoresque, la profonde gravité de l’Élégie.

Jacques-André Houle