Work

Elegy (in memoriam Michael J Baker) (2001)

Éric Morin

string quartet, and viola

Program Notes

What can I say? Michael was a great human being. The kind of human being one would rarely encounter in a lifetime: true, kind, understanding and, for what I know, deeply in love with a beautiful dancer…

I met Michael back in 1995. He was artistic director of ARRAYMUSIC, the Toronto-based contemporary chamber music ensemble. He was really the first one to give me a chance professionally, while others would denounce my work purely on academic merit.

You had to see I’m smile; I liked him at first sight. He always wanted to speak French and taught me naughty phrases in English. He used to sing this really funny tune about “Mister Pong” that I still sing in laughter to my friends. We got drunk one night on a good bottle of white wine, looking at a full moon on the roof of his building. One of those nights one would rarely live in his life: true, soft, meaningful…

But now Michael is gone, reaped too soon from my reality by leukaemia. And as I look to this now not-so-full moon, though still so beautifully bright, I can only say to myself that life is the least trustworthy thing I can imagine, giving in one hand and taking so much by the other.

To the memory of this unique individual, I wanted to compose this abstract music, no real pathos involved. For I am powerless facing life’s path…

Many thanks to the Toronto Symphony Orchestra and Roger Moore for making this Elegy possible.

Œuvre

Elegy (in memoriam Michael J Baker) (2001)

Éric Morin

quatuor à cordes et alto

Notes de programme

Que puis-je dire? Pour moi, Michael était un être humain remarquable. Le genre d’être qu’on a trop rarement la chance de rencontrer dans une vie: sincère, aimable, compréhensif et, à ce que je sache, profondément amoureux d’une splendide danseuse…

J’ai fait la connaissance de Michael en 1995. Il était directeur artistique d’ARRAYMUSIC, un ensemble de musique de chambre contemporaine se produisant à Toronto. À une époque où l’on décriait mon travail sur la base de critères académiques désuets, il fut le premier à croire en moi et à me donner une chance.

Fallait-le voir sourire, j’ai accroché dès le premier regard. Il ne voulait s’adresser à moi qu’en français et il m’apprit nombre d’expressions grivoises anglaises. On s’est saoulé un soir sur le toit de son appartement, en compagnie d’une bonne bouteille de vin blanc et d’une magnifique pleine lune. Ce genre de soirée que l’on a si rarement la chance de vivre dans une vie: vraie, douce et gorgée de sens…

Mais maintenant Michael est mort, sauvagement fauché par la leucémie. Et ce soir, à la lumière de ce mince quartier de lune, si plaisamment brillant toutefois, la vie me semble la chose la plus sournoise que je puisse imaginer: donnant d’une main pour mieux voler de l’autre.

À la mémoire de cet homme unique, j’ai composé cette musique abstraite, exempte — à mes yeux — d’implication émotive; impuissant que je suis face aux desseins de l’existence…

Je remercie sincèrement de leur support financier et technique l’Orchestre Symphonique de Toronto et monsieur Roger D Moore.