Work

Thirty Pieces for String Quartet (1983)

John Cage

string quartet

Program Notes

These three string quartets span across approximately the last half of John Cage’s life. The first of these, String Quartet in Four Parts (1949-1950), was composed in a time when Cage was beginning to turn away from the image of a composer as one who creates works of art that are vehicles for self expression to a radically different function of the composer as one who arranges frameworks of time in which sounds occur without any personal, emotional, dramatic or narrative intentions.

At the end of the 1950s Cage began composing music that was experimental, with chance operation using the I-Ching (Chinese Book of Changes), graphics and other innovative notations, and other practices to specify structures of sound/silence, time/space, that were indeterminate of the composer’s intentions and that have allowed each person in the audience to hear sound and to have their own experience.

Later in the 1970s, and as heard in Thirty Pieces for String Quartet (1983) and Four (1989), Cage returned to a more traditional notation again, still using chance operation and incorporating computer programming technology to determine the specific details of the music.

Throughout all of his time Cage structured his compositions on time itself, this being, for Cage, the fundamental parameter if music; time as rhythm, or duration, or time-space. Time is thus the “ingredient” in which durations of sound and silence occur. All three of these quartets are composed on this premise, but each one realizes the task in its own way, with its own structure of sound-time-space.

String Quartet in Four Parts is evocative of the four seasons; these are not presented as personal expressions but rather as impressionistic qualities of sound and movement. It is written out traditionally in full score. As Cage says: “The subject is that of the seasons, but the first two movements are also concerned with place… Summer in France; fall in America. The third and fourth movements are also concerned with musical subjects, winter being expressed as a canon (compositional rules), spring as a quodlibet (musical quotations). He describes the composition as “a melodic line without accompaniment.” Each instrument is allotted a specific gamut (vocabulary) of sounds “single tones, intervals, triads and aggregates requiring one or more instruments for their production”) that Cage then composes with as building blocks to construct the melodic line, as well as to sustain the overall harmonic cohesion. There is also a specific rhythm structure for each movement; the flow of sound unfolds within this measured, proportional organization of time as pre-set by the composer.

Later, this will change, as Cage writes in 1988: “In recent years (since 1960) we have moved from an interest in structure to an interest in process, away from the divisions of a whole into parts and close to something without beginning, middle, and end, something like weather.” In the late seventies he began to notate the music within flexible time brackets, sometimes almost traditional in appearance, sometimes using a time-space notation. Time brackets indicated a period of time in which the music should be realized but allowed for the musician to determine the exact placement and speed of the given music in performance. Cage explains it: “It is like a process that includes structures, that can last any length of time, that can begin and end at any time within the time bracket. I like flexibility… our relationship (to and between musicians) is apolitical and anarchic.”

Thirty Pieces for String Quartet (1983) is composed this way. Each part is independent of the others, all with thirty time brackets (thirty “pieces”) each of approximately 45 seconds. As Cage says, “it is a coincidence of solos. There is no relationship of the four parts in a fixed score”. Each solo is either microtonal (a pulse rhythm of tones and harmonics, tonal (slower more sustained lines), or chromatic (complex, active, almost virtuoso activities). Each musician is given musical materials consisting of these three possibilities, each part with its own particular sequence of activity within a time bracket. What occurs is a kind of mobile kaleidoscope of textures and activities suspended in the time-space of thirty minutes. As Cage says, perhaps with his usual smile: “Its flexibility of structure makes it a music that is, so to speak, earthquake-proof.”

Four (1989) is part of a series begun in 1987 and continued until Cage’s death in 1992, referred to as the “number” pieces because the naming of the pieces is determined by the number of performers. Flexible time brackets are indicated as before, but the sonic material in these later years of his life is much simplified, sometimes only one tone or perhaps two or three and, in this piece, always played softly. By contrast to Thirty Pierces, here all of the parts are available to anyone and at certain moments musicians can exchange parts; there is no individual virtuosity but rather an ensemble of shifting tonal densities. Commenting on the “number” pieces Cage reflects: “A performance of music can be a metaphor for society… no conductor… no score.” It is as if Cage, near the end of his life, has simplified and clarified his music as an enactment of “a soundly organized society.”

Malcolm Goldstein, December 2007

Œuvre

Thirty Pieces for String Quartet (1983)

John Cage

quatuor à cordes

Notes de programme

La composition des trois quatuors à cordes s’est effectuée durant la seconde moitié de la vie de John Cage. Il écrit String Quartet in Four Parts (1949-1950), alors qu’il commence à rejeter l’image du compositeur créateur d’une œuvre d’art comme véhicule de l’expression personnelle, pour se tourner vers celle, radicalement différente, du compositeur-organisateur de structures temporelles au travers desquelles les sons se manifestent sans qu’aucune intention personnelle, émotionnelle, théâtrale ou narrative ne soit perceptible.

À la fin des années 50, Cage commence à écrire de la musique expérimentale. Il utilise des procédés aléatoires basés sur le Yi-King, le Livre des changements chinois, des notations graphiques ainsi que d’autres pratiques innovatrices. Celles-ci visent à définir des structures dyadiques — son/silence, temps/espace — qui ne livreraient aucun indice sur les intentions du compositeur, mais qui permettraient à chaque auditeur d’appréhender le son de façon personnelle et de le relier à sa propre expérience.

Plus tard, dans les années 70, Cage revient à une notation plus traditionnelle, comme on peut l’entendre dans Thirty Pieces for String Quartet (1983) et Four (1989). Il utilise toujours des procédés aléatoires, mais y intègre des technologies de la programmation informatique afin d’y définir les détails précis de sa musique.

Durant ces année, Cage a structuré ses compositions par rapport au temps qui est, selon lui, le paramètre fondamental de la musique: le temps est rythme, durée et espace-temps. Il est l’«ingrédient» qui permet à la durée, au son et au silence d’exister. La composition des trois quatuors est basée sur cette prémisse, mais chaque pièce accomplit la tâche de façon différente, avec sa propre structure son-temps-espace.

Le String Quartet in Four Parts évoque les quatre saisons: elles n’y sont pas présentées comme une expression personnelle de l’artiste, mais plutôt comme des caractéristiques impressionnistes du son et du mouvement. La pièce est écrite de façon traditionnelle, sur une partition. «Les saisons en sont le sujet, dit Cage, mais les deux premiers mouvements font référence à des lieux… l’été en France, l’automne aux États-Unis. Les troisième et quatrième mouvements décrivent également des sujets musicaux: l’hiver s’expose sous forme de canon (règles compositionnelles), le printemps comme un quodlibet* (citations musicales)». Cage décrit cette œuvre comme une ligne mélodique sans accompagnement. Chaque instrument possède une gamme spécifique (un vocabulaire) de sons («une production de tons simples, d’intervalles, de triades et d’agrégats exigeant un ou plusieurs instruments») dont la structure ressemble un peu à celle d’une construction de blocs composant la ligne mélodique et soutenant la cohésion harmonique de l’ensemble. Chaque mouvement a aussi sa propre structure rythmique; c’est ainsi que le son se déroule à l’intérieur d’une organisation temporelle proportionnelle et mesurée préétablie par le compositeur.

Plus tard, Cage change encore sa méthode. En 1988, il écrit: «Récemment (depuis les années 60), l’intérêt que nous portions aux structures s’est transformé en intérêt pour les procédés, loin des divisions du tout en segments et plus proche d’une entité qui n’aurait pas de commencement, de milieu ou de fin — un peu comme le climat.» À la fin des années 70, il commence à écrire une musique dont la notation — d’apparence parfois traditionnelle et parfois spatiotemporelle — s’inscrit à l’intérieur de parenthèses temporelles flexibles (time brackets). Ces parenthèses indiquent aux musiciens la durée d’une musique donnée mais leur permettent de choisir le moment et sa vitesse lors d’une performance. «C’est comme un processus qui intègre les structures, qui peut avoir n’importe quelle longueur et qui peut commencer ou se terminer n’importe quand à l’intérieur des parenthèses», explique le compositeur. «J’aime la souplesse… nos relations (à l’égard des musiciens et entre eux) sont apolitique et anarchiste».

C’est de cette façon qu’est composé Thirty Pieces for String Quartet (1983). Chaque partie est indépendante des autres, chacune dans sa propre parenthèse temporelle qui dure approximativement 45 secondes. Selon le compositeur, «Il s’agit d’une “coïncidence” de solos. Il n’y a aucune relation entre les quatre parties dans une partition figée. Chaque solo est soit microtonal (un rythme “pulsé ” de sons et d’harmoniques), tonal (des lignes plus lentes et soutenues) ou chromatique (complexe, dynamique, presque virtuose)». Chaque musicien reçoit un matériau musical offrant trois possibilités, contenant leur propre séquence d’activité à l’intérieur d’une parenthèse temporelle. Une sorte de kaléidoscope mobile de textures et d’activités se déploie alors dans un espace-temps de trente minutes. «Par cette flexibilité structurelle, la musique devient en quelque sorte à l’épreuve des tremblements de terre», souligne John Cage, sûrement avec son sourire en coin caractéristique.

Four (1989) appartient à la série des «Number pieces», commencée en 1987 et inachevée à sa mort, et dont le titre des œuvres révèle le nombre de musiciens requis pour son exécution. Les parenthèses temporelles sont toujours indiquées, mais le matériel sonore des dernières années est considérablement simplifié; parfois, il n’y a qu’un seul son, quelquefois deux ou trois et, dans cette œuvre, ils sont toujours joués très doucement. Four diffère de Thirty Pieces, car les musiciens ont accès à toutes les parties, et peuvent même, à certains moments, les échanger entre eux; pas de virtuosité individuelle, mais un ensemble de densités tonales changeantes. En parlant de ses «Number pieces», Cage a déclaré qu’une «performance musicale peut être une métaphore pour décrire la société… pas de chef… pas de partition». C’est comme si, au crépuscule de sa vie, il avait choisi de clarifier et de simplifier sa musique, qui serait à l’image d’une société judicieusement organisée**.

*Quodlibet (*composition musicale combinant différentes mélodies en contrepoint — un pot pourri )

**Jeux de mots intraduisible: «A society soundly organized»

Texte de Malcolm Goldstein — traduction de Sylvie Brousseau