Work

Le mensonge et l’identité (2008, 10)

Jean Derome, Joane Hétu

string quartet, and stereo fixed medium

Commission: Bozzini Quartet, with support from the CCA and CALQ

Movements

  • 1. 1er mouvement
    • 1. Le relais
    • 2. Demi-vérité A
    • 3. Demi-vérité B
    • 4. La nouvelle — Joane
    • 5. Identité 1
    • 6. ADN-Spirales
    • 7. Identité 2
    • 8. La nouvelle — Jean 1
    • 9. Demi-vérité C et D
    • 10. Appartenir I
    • 11. La nouvelle — Jean 2
    • 12. Appartenir II
    • 13. Demi-vérité F
    • 14. Appartenir III
    • 15. Demi-vérité E
    • 16. Le mensonge
    • 17. 4 solos violents
    • 18. ADN-Montée
    • 19. Demi-Vérité V
  • 2. 2e mouvement
    • 1. Pulsations
    • 2. 38 pièces
    • 3. Shiatsu
    • 4. Mélopées d’ADN
  • 3. 3e mouvement
    • 1. 16 lutrins
    • 2. ADN-Folklore

Listen Up

Program Notes

Work for string quartet, whose members speak, move about, improvise, and accompany themselves with a prerecorded tape.

The theme of Forum Neuer Musik 2008 took a strong political bent, defying the avant-garde to bring forth new ideas and means of understanding the problems we face today. A daunting challenge for artists, as our world is rife with war, terrorism, imperialism, ethnic conflicts, etc.

We live in a fractured, repressive, and violent society that worships individualism, leaving everyone defending only their own interests. Despite being surrounded by multitudes, we live in great solitude, our community institutions (religious, social, and family groups) have crumbled, leaving us with nothing to identify ourselves to, with no spiritual home base.

Music, however, is created from spiritual and physical energy in the context of a community. In playing music, we can find ways to live together, think and share together that comes to us as if from our prehistoric brain. These ways of being constitute one of humanity’s last bastions of resistance. Where there is living music, there can be a viable society. It is as though we vibrate together.

We have used the string quartet as a microcosm of society.

A group like a quartet is made possible only by supporting wholeheartedly the idea of community. A good quartet thinks, acts, and plays as one single person. Nonetheless, even as the instruments and their players are required to sublimate their individuality and blend with one another, every musical ensemble is different. In the case of Bozzini Quartet there are three women, one man, a married couple, two sisters, different ethnic/national origins, etc.

The mirror concept quickly became an important thematic element of the piece. We chose to talk about lies and identity. The musicians play and speak both live and on the pre-recorded tape, to the point that the listener can barely differentiate between the real and the recorded.

The piece is in 3 sections, and gradually unravels the structure of the quartet, as well as the traditional proceedings of its concerts.

In the first section we see the quartet as we know it classically. The music is often homorhythmic, and the quartet forms a block while the tape intervenes often.

In the second section, the musicians start to move away from their original positions on stage. The performance space becomes fragmented, the players take different tempi. Over time, a certain alignment emerges, requiring an almost telepathic empathy between the musicians. Here the tape is only found in the transitions.

The third section sees the performance space open up completely. Now the musicians are independent soloists, playing different pieces simultaneously, with the tape coming in only at the finale. The score is no longer a foregone, ritual recitation, but rather a process open to the possibility of creating a situation of both freedom and responsibility on behalf of each individual.

As tandem composers, we also have had to vibrate together in writing this piece. This relatively rare type of collaboration presented us with certain challenges: retaining coherence in the work; balancing cohabitation responsibilities; and reconciling individual freedom with the interests of the common good. Liberty requires a community of individuals in order to exist. Individual liberty is meaningless in a fragmented society, yet no social fabric can hold together if its constituents are not themselves free.

The tape consists of musical and spoken excerpts of the Bozzini Quartet. It was recorded at Studio 270 by Robert Langlois, and mixed by Joane Hétu and Robert Langlois. Editing and production of the pre-recorded tape by Joane Hétu.

Translation: Reuven Rothman

Œuvre

Le mensonge et l’identité (2008, 10)

Jean Derome, Joane Hétu

quatuor à cordes et support stéréo

Commande: Quatuor Bozzini, avec l’aide du CAC et du CALQ

Mouvements

  • 1. 1er mouvement
    • 1. Le relais
    • 2. Demi-vérité A
    • 3. Demi-vérité B
    • 4. La nouvelle — Joane
    • 5. Identité 1
    • 6. ADN-Spirales
    • 7. Identité 2
    • 8. La nouvelle — Jean 1
    • 9. Demi-vérité C et D
    • 10. Appartenir I
    • 11. La nouvelle — Jean 2
    • 12. Appartenir II
    • 13. Demi-vérité F
    • 14. Appartenir III
    • 15. Demi-vérité E
    • 16. Le mensonge
    • 17. 4 solos violents
    • 18. ADN-Montée
    • 19. Demi-Vérité V
  • 2. 2e mouvement
    • 1. Pulsations
    • 2. 38 pièces
    • 3. Shiatsu
    • 4. Mélopées d’ADN
  • 3. 3e mouvement
    • 1. 16 lutrins
    • 2. ADN-Folklore

À l’écoute

Notes de programme

Pièce pour un quatuor à cordes dont les membres vont aussi parler, se déplacer, improviser et s’accompagner eux-mêmes à l’aide d’une bande sonore.

La thématique du Forum Neuer Musik 2008 prenait une tangente résolument politique et nous offrait un défi de taille: l’avant-garde peut-elle apporter de nouvelles idées, de nouvelles manières de comprendre les problèmes que nous vivons? Que pouvons-nous dire en tant qu’artistes à propos de la guerre, du terrorisme, de l’impérialisme, des conflits ethniques, etc.

Nous vivons dans une société éclatée, répressive et violente qui voue un culte à outrance à l’individualisme et où chacun ne recherche que son profit personnel. Bien qu’entourés d’une multitude de gens, nous vivons une très grande solitude parce que les grands axes de la communauté (religion, groupes sociaux, famille…) ont éclaté et n’offrent plus de quoi s’identifier, se rattacher.

La musique se fait dans une communauté de l’esprit et du corps. On y retrouve des manières de cohabiter, de vivre et de penser ensemble qui remontent probablement à la préhistoire et qui constituent des bastions de résistance pour l’être humain. Tant qu’il y aura de la musique vivante, la société sera viable.

Il s’agit de vibrer ensemble.

Nous avons pris le quatuor à cordes comme un microcosme, un modèle de la société.

Un tel ensemble n’est possible qu’en s’appuyant très fort sur l’idée de communauté. Un bon quatuor joue, pense et agit comme une seule personne. Pourtant, même si les instruments et les êtres sont appelés à fusionner, chaque ensemble de musique présente un assemblage de réalités très diverses. Dans le cas du quatuor Bozzini: trois femmes, un homme, un couple, deux sœurs, des origines différentes, etc.

Le miroir est rapidement devenu un thème important de notre pièce. Nous avons choisi de traiter du mensonge et de l’identité. Les musiciens jouent et parlent en direct ou sur bande si bien qu’on ne sait pas toujours très bien différencier le vrai du faux.

La pièce est en 3 sections et propose un éclatement graduel de la structure d’un quatuor et du déroulement habituel de ses concerts.

La première section présente le quatuor dans une configuration classique. Les pièces y sont souvent homorythmiques. Le quatuor forme un bloc et la bande intervient fréquemment.

Dans la deuxième section, le quatuor se met à se déplacer. L’espace de jeu devient plus éclaté, les musiciens jouent sur des pulsations différentes. Un certain parallélisme s’installe qui demande une empathie des musiciens, presque une télépathie. La bande ne sert que dans les transitions.

Dans la troisième section, l’espace de jeu devient complètement ouvert, les musiciens sont tous des solistes indépendants, plusieurs pièces sont jouées simultanément et la bande n’est employée que dans la finale. La partition n’est plus un rituel à accomplir inexorablement mais un processus qui permet de générer des situations de liberté et de responsabilité de la part de chaque individu.

De notre côté, pour composer à deux, nous avons aussi eu à vibrer ensemble. La composition d’une pièce musicale à deux est un exercice peu commun et nous a présenté un défi intéressant de cohabitation, de cohérence et de liberté individuelle versus le bien commun.

Pour que la liberté puisse exister, il faut une communauté et des individus. La liberté individuelle n’a pas de sens si le tissu social est éclaté, tandis que la société n’a pas de sens si ses constituants ne sont pas libres.

Le contenu de la bande est composé d’extraits musicaux du Quatuor Bozzini et des paroles des musiciens. Enregistré au Studio 270, par Robert Langlois et mixé par Joane Hétu et Robert Langlois. Le montage de la bande a été réalisé par Joane Hétu.