Work

Possible Nudity (1988)

Linda Bouchard

viola, cello, and piano

Commission: Loïs Martin

Program Notes

Possible Nudity was composed during a residency at the Yaddo Foundation in Saratoga Springs, New York during the month of December 1987. We are hearing tonight the trio version of the original instrumentation which was for solo viola, cello, bass, harp and percussion.

Looking at the score again now, I’m reminded of how I wrote the piece in the winter, and how the landscape out my window transformed from a bleak, frozen winter stillness to a landscape blanketed in snow. Aspects of this transformation informed the writing—there and back again. I was reminded of how things are hidden. The structure reflects this assembly: large sections are separated and interspersed with smaller short sections that, together, offer a sense of contrast.

As I listen to this piece now some 24 years later, I realize that this might be the most melodic writing I have ever done—as in, a lyrical line and melody with textures and timbres. Orchestral color as the basis of this approach remains a primary building block for my writing to this day.

Œuvre

Possible Nudity (1988)

Linda Bouchard

alto, violoncelle et piano

Commande: Loïs Martin

Notes de programme

Possible nudity fut composée durant une résidence à la Fondation Yaddo, à Saratoga Spring (New York), en 1987. Nous entendrons ce soir une version pour trio de la composition orchestrée initialement pour alto solo, violoncelle, contrebasse, harpe et percussion: l’instrumentation originale de l’Abandon Ensemble, que j’avais formé quand je vivais à New York.

En relisant la partition, je me suis rappelé qu’au moment de composer l’œuvre, au tout début de l’hiver, j’ai vu le paysage se transformer sous mes yeux: de glacial et mort, tout à coup il s’est recouvert de la première neige. Cet aspect de la transformation inspire l’écriture sur deux strates superposées en alternance. La structure de l’œuvre reflète cet état: de grandes sections séparées par des sections très courtes offrant le contraste des mêmes éléments, mais transformées.

En réécoutant l’œuvre aujourd’hui, 24 ans plus tard, je me rends compte que cette composition est probablement la plus mélodique de mon répertoire — mélodies de textures et de timbres. Les couleurs orchestrales sont toujours des éléments importants de mon écriture.