Work

String Quartet No. 3 — The Alynne (1998)

Owen Underhill

string quartet

Program Notes

The third string quartet was composed after the birth of my daughter Alynne in 1997. Alynne was discovered to have a chromosomal abnormality shortly before her birth. The unexpected crisis seemed to stop time even in the midst of a hurtling chaos of medical commentary and internal psychological fears and pressures.

Around this time, a friend sent us some lines from Yeats:

We can make our minds so like still water, that beings gather about us that they may see, it may be their own images. And so live for a moment with clearer, perhaps even with a fiercer life because of our quiet

As our family discovered a miraculous and sometimes painful new world that our daughter opened up for us, I was presented with the opportunity to write a work for the Maggini String Quartet of England to be premiered in the 1998 Vancouver New Music International New Music Festival. The piece that resulted, although not programmatic or directly autobiographical, reflects qualities of that special year. The music alternates between a delicate and fragile frozen landscape and a series of dances. Each dance, culminating with a high and treacherous viola solo, symbolized for me flying over danger, arriving again into a place of stillness. I thought about the Yeats message as I composed the piece and this text I placed in the score as my program note.

Œuvre

String Quartet No. 3 — The Alynne (1998)

Owen Underhill

quatuor à cordes

Notes de programme

J’ai composé mon troisième quatuor à cordes après la naissance de ma fille Alynne en 1997. On a découvert une anomalie chromosomique chez Alynne peu avant sa naissance. Cette crise inattendue a semblé arrêter le temps, malgré le tourbillon d’avis médicaux, de craintes et de pressions psychologiques.

À l’époque, un ami nous a envoyé ces vers de Yeats:

Nous pouvons rendre nos esprits comme l’eau calme au point que les êtres se rassemblent autour de nous pour voir, peut-être leur propre reflet. Et ainsi vivre un moment de vie plus claire, voire plus acharnée grâce à notre tranquillité.

Au cours de cette période où notre famille pénétrait dans le nouveau monde miraculeux et parfois douloureux que notre fille nous faisait découvrir, on m’a donné l’occasion de composer pour un quatuor anglais, le Maggini String Quartet, une œuvre qui devait être créée à l’édition 1998 de l’International New Music Festival de Vancouver New Music. La pièce qui en est résultée, sans être descriptive ni directement autobiographique, reflète les émotions de cette année spéciale. La musique passe successivement d’un paysage glacé, délicat et fragile, à une série de danses. Chaque danse, dont le point culminant est un solo d’alto aigu et périlleux, symbolisait pour moi le fait de survoler le danger pour atterrir de nouveau dans un lieu de tranquillité. J’ai médité le message de Yeats en composant cette pièce, et j’ai inscrit le poème dans la partition en guise de note de programme.