Composer’s Kitchen 2017

About

This unique event revolving around the string quartet is a combination workshop, laboratory, playground, and master class intended for young composers in the advanced stages of their studies or artistic development. Over the course of a week, the Quatuor Bozzini observes the work of four up-and-coming composers. Their compositions are read, played, assessed, analyzed, worked on, played again, and performed in the closing concert. Composers Linda Catlin Smith (CAN) and Bryn Harrison (UK) are the mentors this year. Quatuor Bozzini is pleased to partner again with Embedded — the flagship program of the UK agency Sound and Music — for Composer’s Kitchen 2017.

Participants

  • Rebecca Bruton
  • Jason Doell
  • Sarah Lianne Lewis
  • Lawrence Dunn

Registration

Composer’s Kitchen

Composer’s Kitchen is a professional residency produced by Quatuor Bozzini since 2005 whose aim is to train emerging composers in string quartet writing. This unique event is like an “incubator” for original works, combining workshop, laboratory, playground, and masterclass. The new compositions are read, played, assessed, analysed, worked on, played again and performed in a final concert. The residency occurs over two phases: in the first phase, a week-long workshop occurs in Montréal (Canada); six months later, all the artists reunite in the Composer’s Kitchen second phase which takes place in partnership with an international organization (in the past: Huddersfield Contemporary Music Festival, Gaudeamus Muziekweek, Sound and Music/Sound Scotland). Quatuor Bozzini and the participants refresh and review in detail the pieces which have matured over the last number of months. Throughout the process, the composers will be supported by — other than Quatuor Bozzini — the presence of experienced mentors who are amongst the most important figures in new music creation.

“Dare to do what you’ve never dared before!”

Each edition of the Composer’s Kitchen is a chance to rigorously work in a creative, non-competitive and relaxed atmosphere. Participants are encouraged to experiment beyond the limits of convention and to explore new and varied aesthetic styles in a way that their mastery in string quartet writing is strengthened to its highest degree during this enriching experience.

Quatuor Bozzini loves cultivating these relationships with composers beyond the residency period, resulting in a rich network of collaborations. In this way, Quatuor Bozzini always strives to stay active in current trends and practices of emerging composers.

Composer’s Kitchen 2017

Présentation

Cet événement unique centré sur le quatuor à cordes fusionne les concepts d’atelier, de laboratoire, de salle de jeu et de cours de maître. Pendant une semaine, le quatuor se penche sur l’œuvre de quatre jeunes compositeurs et compositrices de la génération montante. Leur pièce est lue, décortiquée, commentée, travaillée, analysée, rejouée, puis exécutée en concert à la clôture. Les compositeurs Linda Catlin Smith (CAN) et Bryn Harrison (RU) font office de mentors cette année. Le Quatuor Bozzini est fier d’annoncer un renouvellement de notre partenariat avec Embedded — le programme phare de l’agence britannique Sound and Music — pour le projet d’échange du Composer’s Kitchen 2017.

Participants

  • Rebecca Bruton
  • Jason Doell
  • Sarah Lianne Lewis
  • Lawrence Dunn

Inscription

Composer’s Kitchen

Le Composer’s Kitchen est une résidence professionnelle produite par le Quatuor Bozzini depuis 2005, visant à former les compositeurs de la génération montante à l’écriture d’œuvres destinées à la formation du quatuor à cordes. Cet événement unique agit comme incubateur d’œuvres originales, fusionnant les concepts d’atelier, de laboratoire, de salle de jeu et de cours de maître. Le Quatuor Bozzini se penche sur les œuvres des jeunes compositrices et compositeurs sélectionnés: leurs pièces sont lues, décortiquées, commentées, travaillées, analysées, rejouées, puis exécutées à l’occasion d’un concert de clôture. La résidence se décline en deux parties: dans un premier temps, un atelier d’une semaine se déroule à Montréal (Canada); six mois plus tard, tous se retrouvent alors que le Composer’s Kitchen est repris en partenariat avec une organisation internationale (par le passé: Huddersfield Contemporary Music Festival, Gaudeamus Muziekweek, Sound and Music/Sound Scotland). Le Quatuor Bozzini et les participantes et participants rafraîchissent et retravaillent les pièces en profondeur suite à cette période de maturation bénéfique. Tout au long du processus, les compositrices et les compositeurs peuvent compter — en plus du Quatuor — sur la présence de mentors d’expérience qui comptent parmi les figures les plus importantes de la création musicale actuelle.

«Osez faire ce que vous n’avez jamais osé faire!»

Chaque édition du Composer’s Kitchen est l’occasion d’effectuer un travail rigoureux de création dans une atmosphère décontractée et non compétitive. Les participantes et participants sont invités à expérimenter au-delà des limites du conventionnel et du convenu, et à explorer des esthétiques nouvelles et variées de manière à ce que leur maîtrise du medium du quatuor à cordes s’en trouve consolidée par une expérience de la plus haute qualité.

Le Quatuor Bozzini aime nourrir ces échanges avec les compositrices et les compositeurs bien au-delà de la durée de la résidence. Ces relations durables créent un riche réseau de collaborations. De cette manière, le Quatuor cherche toujours à rester en phase avec les tendances émergentes et les pratiques affectionnées par les créatrices et les créateurs de la relève.