Piano Quintet

Laurence Crane

Piano Quintet has been performed in Bologna and Montréal…

My Piano Quintet consists of four movements and has a total duration of 26 minutes. Although the four separate movements are very distinct in character it’s possible to trace a line through the entire work that connects nearly all the musical material. So A leads to B, which then gives rise to C, which evolves into D… and so on. Another important structural element is the way that the relationship between the piano and the string quartet changes over the course of the piece.


The piece was commissioned by the Richard Thomas Foundation and was composed mostly between the months of June and October 2011. The first performance was given by Andrew Matthews-Owen and the Brodowski String Quartet at the Purcell Room at the Southbank Centre in London on 16 October 2011.

Piano Quintet

  • Laurence Crane
  • Year of composition: 2011
  • Duration: 26:00
  • Instrumentation: string quartet and piano
  • Commission: Richard Thomas Foundation
18 Apri 2013
8:00 pm
Série QB
In person
Montréal (Québec)
8 May 2015
9:30 pm
In person
Bologna (Italy)