Music for 4 Strings (2014)

Takeo Hoshiya

string quartet

Commission: Quatuor Bozzini

Program Notes

Recently, I have been interested in the way humans remember, the way in which we forget, and control our memory. Music for 4 strings is essentially a very linear composition based almost entirely on a continuous line, accompanied by a counter line. The principle line consists of a succession of short melodic fragments. I then combined these fragments in a variety of ways — sometimes closely connected, sometimes unconnected and sometimes ambiguously connected. This idea of the ambiguous relationship is very important to my music.