Carola Bauckholt

Carola Bauckholt was born in Krefeld, Germany, in 1959. After working at the Theater am Marienplatz (TAM), Krefeld for several years, she studied composition at the Musikhochschule Köln with Mauricio Kagel (1978-84). She founded the Thürmchen Verlag (music publisher) along with Caspar Johannes Walter in 1985, and six years later they founded the Thürmchen Ensemble.

She has received numerous residencies and prizes such as the Bernd Alois Zimmermann Scholarship from the city of Cologne (1986), a residency at the Villa Massimo in Rome (1997), in 1998 she was designated the Artist of the Year by the State of North Rhine Westphalia, and she was selected to represent Germany at the World Music Days in Mexico City 1992, Copenhagen 1996, Seoul 1997 and in Zurich 2004. She was awarded the German Composers Prize from the GEMA in the category of experimental music in 2010. From London International Animation Festival 2019 she received the “Best Sound Design Award” for “The Flounder” in collaboration with Elizabeth Hobbs and Klangforum Wien. For 2021 she has been invited to a three-month stay at the Villa Aurora in Los Angeles.

She teaches as guest professor in Santiago di Chile (2010), Ostrava Tschechische Republik (2011 and 2013), Amsterdam (2012 and 2014), Krakau (2012), Zürich (2012), Apeldoorn (2013), Kiev (2013) Oslo (2014 and 2015), Mexiko City (2014), Monterrey (2015), London (2015), Moskau and Tschaikovsky City (2016), Bludenz (2018, 2019), Haifa (2019) Chicago (2019) and in Germany.

In 2013, she was elected as a member of Akademie der Künste in Berlin. In 2015, she was appointed as professor of composition with focus on contemporary musictheatre at the Anton Bruckner Privatuniversität in Linz, Austria. In 2020, she was elected as a member of the North Rhine-Westphalian Academy of Sciences, Humanities and the Arts.

A central theme of Bauckholt’s work is the examination of the phenomena of perception and understanding. Her compositions often blur the boundaries between visual arts, musical theater and concert music. She is especially fond of using noisy sounds, which are often produced by unconventional means (such as extended instrumental techniques or bringing everyday objects to the concert hall). It is important to note that these noises are not just part of some kind of a predetermined compositional structure, but rather they are carefully studied and left free to unfold and develop at their own pace lending the compositions their own unique rhythm.

[source: www.quatuorbozzini.ca]

Carola Bauckholt

Krefeld (Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany), 1959

  • Composer

On the web

Works

Past concerts

8 Marc 2017
8:00 pm
Série QB
BauckholtKagelWalshe
Montréal (Québec)
7 Marc 2017
8:00 pm
Série QB
BauckholtKagelWalshe
Montréal (Québec)
31 Janu 2017
8:00 pm
BauckholtKagelMedekšaitėO’Callaghan
Vienna (Austria)
10 Dece 2013
6:00 pm
Série QB
BauckholtBielFrithOehring
Workshop
Montréal (Québec)

Carola Bauckholt

Carola Bauckholt est née à Krefeld (Allemagne) en 1959. Après avoir travaillé au Theater am Marienplatz (TAM) à Krefeld pendant plusieurs années, elle a étudié la composition à la Musikhochschule Köln avec Mauricio Kagel (1978-1984). Elle a cofondé les éditions musicales Thürmchen Verlag avec Caspar Johannes Walter en 1985, avant de créer l’ensemble Thürmchen six ans plus tard.

Carola a effectué plusieurs résidences et reçu de nombreux prix, dont la bourse Bernd Alois Zimmermann de la ville de Cologne (1986) et une résidence à la Villa Massimo de Rome (1997). Nommée artiste de l’année de Rhénanie du Nord-Westphalie en 1998, elle a été choisie pour représenter l’Allemagne aux Journées internationales de la musique à Mexico (1992), Copenhague (1996), Séoul (1997) et Zurich (2004). Lauréate du prix de la GEMA dans la catégorie musique expérimentale en 2010, elle a reçu le prix de la meilleure conception sonore pour The Flounder, en collaboration avec Elizabeth Hobbs et Klangforum Wien, au Festival international de film d’animation de Londres en 2019. Elle a été invitée pour une résidence de trois mois à la Villa Aurora de Los Angeles en 2021.

Carola a été professeure invitée à Santiago au Chili (2010), Ostrava en République tchèque (2011 et 2013), Amsterdam (2012 et 2014), Cracovie (2012), Zürich (2012), Apeldoorn (2013), Kiev (2013), Oslo (2014 et 2015), Mexico (2014), Monterrey (2015), Londres (2015), Moscou et Tchaïkovski (2016), Bludenz (2018, 2019), Haïfa (2019), Chicago (2019) et en Allemagne.

Elle a été élue membre de l’Académie des arts de Berlin en 2013. Elle a été nommée professeure de composition avec spécialité en théâtre musical contemporain à la Anton Bruckner Privatuniversität à Linz (Autriche) en 2015, avant d’être reçue membre de l’Académie des sciences et des arts de Rhénanie du Nord-Westphalie en 2020.

L’exploration des phénomènes de la perception et de la compréhension sont un thème central dans l’œuvre de Bauckholt. Ses compositions brouillent souvent les frontières entre les arts visuels, le théâtre musical et la musique de concert. Elle affectionne particulièrement l’emploi de bruits, souvent produits par des moyens non conventionnels (techniques instrumentales étendues ou utilisation d’objets du quotidien en concert). Ces bruits ne font pas seulement partie d’une structure compositionnelle prédéterminée, ils sont étudiés minutieusement et introduits de manière à les laisser se déployer et se développer à leur propre rythme, ce qui confère un caractère rythmique unique aux compositions.

[traduction française: Yves Charuest, i-21]

Carola Bauckholt

Krefeld (Rhénanie-du-Nord-Westphalie, Allemagne), 1959

  • Compositrice

Sur le web

Œuvres

Concerts passés

8 mars 2017
20h00
Série QB
BauckholtKagelWalshe
En salle
Montréal (Québec)
7 mars 2017
20h00
Série QB
BauckholtKagelWalshe
En salle
Montréal (Québec)
31 janv 2017
20h00
BauckholtKagelMedekšaitėO’Callaghan
En salle
Vienne (Autriche)
10 déce 2013
18h00
Série QB
BauckholtBielFrithOehring
En salle Atelier
Montréal (Québec)