Vitali Karagkezidis

Vitali Karagkezidis was born in the former USSR and raised in Greece. He studied in the Ionian University, the University of York and completed his Master studies at the Royal Conservatory of The Hague (Netherlands). Peter Adriaansz, Yannis Kyriakides, Mayke Nas, Thomas Simaku and Joseph Papadatos have coached him during his studies. He currently lives and works in the Netherlands where he is active as a composer and performer.

His work is inspired by language, harmony, geometry and politics. Using those as a source he tries to create pieces that reflect a unique aesthetic and produce new forms. The visual element has been playing an increasingly important role in his work as the use of projected video and screens is an organic part of his pieces.

Vitali is also a pianist and guitarist and performs live computer music. And though he has spent the better part of his life studying classical music and contemporary composition, he doesn’t repulse his background in more popular styles like rock, hip-hop and jazz.

As a composer, Vitali has written music for a great variety of combinations (ranging from solo to orchestral works) and is becoming more and more diverse in his pallet of sounds using multimedia, processed sound and electric instruments. He has composed for and worked with the Nieuw Ensemble, Diamanda La Berge Dramm, the New European Ensemble, Scordatura Ensemble, Marco Blaauw, Theodore Antoniou and the Greek New Music Ensemble.

Vitali’s music has been performed in Greece, the United Kingdom and the Netherlands. The Holland Festival, Gaudeamus Festival, Grachtenfestival, Athens Music Hall and Het Orgelpark have featured his work.

[i-21]

Vitali Karagkezidis

Russia, 1991

Residence: The Hague (Netherlands)

  • Composer
  • Performer

On the web

Works

Past concerts

12 Sept 2021
7:00 pm
DavachiHallKaragkezidisLanao Aregay
In person
Utrecht (Netherlands)
21 June 2021
24 June 2021
DavachiHallKaragkezidisLanao Aregay
In person Residency
Montréal (Québec)
10 Sept 2020
6:00 pm
Cancelled
DavachiHallKaragkezidisLanao Aregay
In person
Utrecht (Netherlands)
2 May 2020
6:00 pm
Cancelled
Série QB
DavachiHallKaragkezidisLanao Aregay
In person Residency
Montréal (Québec)

Vitali Karagkezidis

Vitali Karagkezidis est né dans l’ancienne URSS et a grandi en Grèce. Il a étudié à l’Université ionienne, à l’Université York et a terminé sa maîtrise au Conservatoire royal de La Haye (Pays-Bas). Il a suivi les cours de Peter Adriaansz, Yannis Kyriakides, Mayke Nas, Thomas Simaku et Joseph Papadatos. Il vit actuellement aux Pays-Bas où il travaille comme compositeur et interprète.

Son travail s’inspire du langage, de l’harmonie, de la géométrie et de la politique. À partir de ces sources, il s’efforce de créer des pièces témoignant d’une approche esthétique unique apte à produire de nouvelles formes. L’élément visuel tient une place de plus en plus importante dans son travail, l’utilisation d’écrans et de vidéos est une composante organique de ses pièces.

Vitali est également pianiste, guitariste et participe à des performances de musique par ordinateur en direct. Et s’il a étudié la musique classique et la composition contemporaine, il ne renie pas son bagage de musiques de styles populaires comme le rock, le hip-hop et le jazz.

Vitali a écrit pour une grande diversité de combinaisons instrumentales (de la musique solo à des œuvres pour orchestre) et sa palette sonore continue de se diversifier en incorporant le multimédia, les sons traités et les instruments électriques. Il a composé et collaboré avec de nombreux ensembles et interprètes, notamment le Nieuw Ensemble, Diamanda La Berge Dramm, New European Ensemble, Scordatura Ensemble, Marco Blaauw, Theodore Antoniou et le Greek New Music Ensemble.

La musique de Vitali a été présentée en Grèce, au Royaume-Uni et aux Pays-Bas et ses œuvres ont été jouées dans de nombreux festivals: Holland, Gaudeamus, Grachtenfestival, Athens Music Hall et Het Orgelpark.

[traduction française: Yves Charuest, ii-21]

Vitali Karagkezidis

Russie, 1991

Résidence: La Haye (Pays-Bas)

  • Compositeur
  • Interprète

Sur le web

Œuvres

Concerts passés

12 sept 2021
19h00
DavachiHallKaragkezidisLanao Aregay
En salle
Utrecht (Pays-Bas)
21 juin 2021
24 juin 2021
DavachiHallKaragkezidisLanao Aregay
En salle Résidence
Montréal (Québec)
10 sept 2020
18h00
Annulé
DavachiHallKaragkezidisLanao Aregay
En salle
Utrecht (Pays-Bas)
2 mai 2020
18h00
Annulé
Série QB
DavachiHallKaragkezidisLanao Aregay
En salle Résidence
Montréal (Québec)