Yannis Kyriakides

Yannis Kyriakides was born in Limassol (Cyprus) in 1969, emigrated to Britain 1975 and has been living in The Netherlands since 1992. He studied musicology at York University, and later composition with Louis Andreessen.

As a composer and sound artist he looks for ways of creating new forms and hybrids of media that problematize the act of listening. In the last years his work has been exploring different relations between words & music, both in concert compositions and installations through the use of systems of encoding information into sound, synthesizing voices and projected text.

His work has been performed worldwide at many of the prominent music festivals, and by many leading contemporary music ensembles. He has been featured composer at Fesitvals such as Huddersfield Contemporary Music Festival 2007, November Music 2011, and Gaida Festival 2017.

Prizes have included the Gaudeamus prize in 2000 for a conSPIracy cantata, a French Qwartz award for the CD Antichamber, the Dutch Toonzetters prize for Paramyth, the Willem Pijper prize for Dreams of the Blind, an honorary mention at the Prix Ars Electronica for the CD Wordless and in 2014 the first prize in the International Rostrum of Composers for Words and Song Without Words.

Together with Andy Moor and Isabelle Vigier he founded and runs the CD label for new electronic music ’Unsounds’. He is a founding member of the ensemble Maze, and teaches composition at the Royal Conservatory of Music in The Hague.

[xi-17]

Yannis Kyriakides

[Γιάννης Κυριακίδης]

Limassol (Cyprus), 1969

Residence: Amsterdam (Netherlands)

  • Composer
  • Sound artist

On the web

Works

Upcoming concerts

10 Dece 2020
11 Dece 2020
Cancelled
Kyriakides
Residency
The Hague (Netherlands)

Past concerts

3 Sept 2018
7 Sept 2018
Residency
Utrecht (Netherlands)
23 Apri 2018
28 Apri 2018
Série QB
Residency
Montréal (Québec)

By continuing browsing our site, you agree to the use of cookies, which allow audience analytics.

Yannis Kyriakides

Yannis Kyriakides est né à Limasol (Chypre) en 1969. Il a d’abord émigré en Angleterre en 1975, puis aux Pays-Bas où il vit depuis 1992. Il a étudié la musicologie à l’Université de York, puis la composition sous la tutelle de Louis Andriessen.

En tant que compositeur et artiste sonore, il est à la recherche de façons de créer de nouvelles formes et des médiums hybrides mettant en perspective l’acte d’écouter. Au cours des dernières années, son travail a porté sur l’exploration des différentes relations entre les mots et la musique, tant dans des œuvres vouées au concert qu’en contextes d’installation, à travers l’utilisation de systèmes permettant d’encoder des informations sous forme sonore, synthétisant voix et textes projetés.

Plusieurs ensembles de haut niveau voués à la musique contemporaine ont interprété sa musique à travers le monde, dans le cadre de nombreux festivals musicaux d’envergure. Il fut aussi nommé compositeur en vedette à l’occasion de festivals tels que le Huddersfield Contemporary Music Festival 2007, November Music 2011 et Gaida Festival 2017.

Parmi les prix qui lui furent remis, on compte le prix Gaudeamus (2000) pour a conSPIracy cantata, un prix Qwarts (France) pour le CD Antichamber, le prix Toonzetters (Hollande) pour Paramyth, le prix Wilem Pijper pour Dreams of the Blind, une mention honorable au Prix Ars Electronica pour le CD Wordless et un 1er prix à la Tribune internationale des compositeurs (2014) pour Words and Songs Without Words.

De paire avec Andy Moor et Isabelle Vigier, il a fondé et dirige l’étiquette de disques Unsounds, dédiée à la nouvelle musique électronique. Il est aussi membre fondateur de l’ensemble Maze, et il enseigne la composition au Conservatoire royal de musique de La Haye.

[xi-17]

Yannis Kyriakides

[Γιάννης Κυριακίδης]

Limassol (Chypre), 1969

Résidence: Amsterdam (Pays-Bas)

  • Compositeur
  • Artiste sonore

Sur le web

Œuvres

Concerts passés

10 déce 2020
11 déce 2020
Annulé
Kyriakides
Résidence
La Haye (Pays-Bas)
3 sept 2018
7 sept 2018
Résidence
Utrecht (Pays-Bas)
23 avri 2018
28 avri 2018
Série QB
Résidence
Montréal (Québec)