Sílvia Lanao Aregay

Sílvia Lanao Aregay’s interest and passion for music started at a very young age, choosing classical piano performance as the main track. To develop her abilities, she moved to Barcelona, where she began composition at Conservatori del Liceu. In Barcelona, she received lessons from Benet Casablancas, Ramon Humet, Israel David Martínez and Hèctor Parra. In 2016, she attended a masterclass with Kaija Saariaho at ESMUC, and with George Benjamin at Conservatori del Liceu.

Music composition was a natural result of her musical practice and soon would become the primary motivation in her career. Once Sílvia found the chance to study abroad, she moved to Amsterdam to study with Wim Henderickx and Willem Jeths. During her studies in the Netherlands, she received lessons from several guest teachers, including Rebecca Saunders and Trevor Wishart.

In 2017, she was selected to participate in the first edition of the Times Academy, a project for young composers in collaboration with the HermesEnsemble which resulted on the premiere of the piece Touch and Hearing at the concert hall Amuz in Antwerpen, Belgium. On the same year, her piece Nit, for symphonic orchestra, was premiered in Muziekgebouw aan t’IJ by the orchestra of the Conservatorium van Amsterdam and Matthew Rowe as the conductor.

In December 2018, she was awarded the Mary Viëtor Prize, the first prize at the Alba Rosa composition competition during Alba Rosa Viva!, festival, celebrated at Het Concertgebouw. She has recently participated in a project together with the Atlas Ensemble, where she collaborated with non-western traditionally trained musicians.

In 2019 she participated in the Opera Forward Festival, at the National Opera and Ballet, Amsterdam. She composed a short opera together with a team of young creators. The composer freshly graduated from the Conservatory of Amsterdam, and she is currently studying a Master Degree in the same institution with Richard Ayres and Jorrit Tamminga.

[i-21]

Sílvia Lanao Aregay

Girona (Spain), 1995

Residence: Amsterdam (Netherlands)

  • Composer

On the web

Works

Past concerts

12 Sept 2021
7:00 pm
DavachiHallKaragkezidisLanao Aregay
In person
Utrecht (Netherlands)
21 June 2021
24 June 2021
DavachiHallKaragkezidisLanao Aregay
In person Residency
Montréal (Québec)
10 Sept 2020
6:00 pm
Cancelled
DavachiHallKaragkezidisLanao Aregay
In person
Utrecht (Netherlands)
2 May 2020
6:00 pm
Cancelled
Série QB
DavachiHallKaragkezidisLanao Aregay
In person Residency
Montréal (Québec)

Sílvia Lanao Aregay

L’intérêt et la passion de Sílvia Lanao Aregay pour la musique remontent à son plus jeune âge, alors qu’elle choisissait de se concentrer sur le piano classique. Pour développer ses compétences, elle s’est installée à Barcelone où elle a commencé à étudier la composition au Conservatoire du Liceu avec Benet Casablancas, Ramon Humet, Israel David Martínez et Hèctor Parra. En 2016, elle a assisté à des classes de maître de Kaija Saariaho à l’ESMUC et de George Benjamin au Conservatoire du Liceu.

La composition découle naturellement de sa pratique musicale et n’a pas tardé à devenir sa principale motivation artistique. Désireuse de poursuivre ses études à l’étranger, Sílvia a déménagé à Amsterdam pour étudier avec Wim Henderickx et Willem Jeths, en plus de suivre les cours de plusieurs compositeurs invités, dont Rebecca Saunders et Trevor Wishart.

En 2017, elle a été choisie pour participer à la première édition de Times Academy, un projet s’adressant aux jeunes compositeurs en collaboration avec l’ensemble Hermes au cours duquel sa pièce Touch and Hearing a été créée à l’amphithéâtre Amuz à Anvers (Belgique). La même année, sa pièce Nit pour orchestre symphonique a été créée au Muziekgebouw aan t’IJ par l’orchestre du Conservatoire d’Amsterdam sous la direction de Matthew Rowe.

En décembre 2018, Sílvia a reçu le prix Mary Viëtor, le premier prix du concours de composition organisé dans le cadre du festival Alba Rosa Viva! au Het Concertgebouw. Elle participait récemment à un projet avec l’ensemble Atlas dans une collaboration avec des musiciens de formation traditionnelle non occidentale.

En 2019, elle a participé au festival Opera Forward de l’Opéra et ballet national d’Amsterdam. Elle a composé un court opéra avec une équipe de jeunes créateurs. Fraîchement diplômée du Conservatoire d’Amsterdam, elle y poursuit actuellement des études de maîtrise avec Richard Ayres et Jorrit Tamminga.

[traduction française: Yves Charuest, ii-21]

Sílvia Lanao Aregay

Gérone (Espagne), 1995

Résidence: Amsterdam (Pays-Bas)

  • Compositrice

Sur le web

Œuvres

Concerts passés

12 sept 2021
19h00
DavachiHallKaragkezidisLanao Aregay
En salle
Utrecht (Pays-Bas)
21 juin 2021
24 juin 2021
DavachiHallKaragkezidisLanao Aregay
En salle Résidence
Montréal (Québec)
10 sept 2020
18h00
Annulé
DavachiHallKaragkezidisLanao Aregay
En salle
Utrecht (Pays-Bas)
2 mai 2020
18h00
Annulé
Série QB
DavachiHallKaragkezidisLanao Aregay
En salle Résidence
Montréal (Québec)