Marc Sabat

Canadian composer of Ukrainian descent Marc Sabat has been based in Berlin since 1999. He makes pieces for concert and installation settings, drawing inspiration from ongoing research about the sounding and perception of Just Intonation. He relates his practice to various music forms — folk, experimental and classical. In collaborations with other musicians and artists he is seeking points of shared exploration and dialogue between different modes of experience and cultural traditions.

Largely self-taught as a composer, Sabat studied violin at the University of Toronto, at the Juilliard School in New York, and computer music at McGill University, as well as working privately with Malcolm Goldstein, James Tenney and Walter Zimmermann, among others. With Wolfgang von Schweinitz he has developed The Helmholtz-Ellis JI Pitch Notation (2020) and is a pioneer of music written and performed in microtonal Just Intonation. In 2000, he co-founded the Plainsound Music Edition website, conceived as a curated, interdisciplinary virtual artists’ edition.

Sabat’s work is played internationally. He teaches composition and the theory and practice of intonation at the Universität der Künste Berlin. Together with colleagues Catherine Lamb and Rebecca Lane he formed the Harmonic Space Orchestra in 2019.

He resides in Helsinki since the summer 2022.

[source: www.quatuorbozzini.ca] [viii-22]

Marc Sabat

Kitchener (Ontario, Canada), 1965

Residence: Helsinki (Finland)

  • Composer
  • Performer (violin)

On the web

Works

Past concerts

12 Nove 2022
19h00
BisschopsSabat
In person
’s-Hertogenbosch (Netherlands)
19 Marc 2022
19h30
Essis-BretonGirard-CharestKoochakzadeh-YazdiSabat
Online event
Muncie (Indiana, USA)
18 Marc 2022
Essis-BretonGirard-CharestKoochakzadeh-YazdiSabat
No audience
Montréal (Québec)
17 Marc 2022
20h00
Série QB
Sabat
In person
Montréal (Québec)
10 Augu 2020
19h30
Cancelled
BoastMillerPinnockPusterlaSabatVassena
In person
New York City (New York, USA)
26 Nove 2014
17h00
ArnoldLizéeSabat
In person
Huddersfield (England, UK)
8 Nove 2014
19h00
HirsNeyrinckSabat
In person
’s-Hertogenbosch (Netherlands)
25 Octo 2014
16h00
HirsNeyrinckSabat
In person
Leuven (Belgium)

Marc Sabat

Le compositeur canadien d’origine ukrainienne Marc Sabat est installé à Berlin depuis 1999. Il crée des pièces pour des concerts et des installations, en s’inspirant de ses recherches sur le son et la perception de l’intonation juste. Il associe sa pratique à diverses formes de musique — folk, expérimentale et classique. Dans ses collaborations avec d’autres, il cherche des points d’exploration et de dialogue partagés entre différents modes d’expérience et traditions culturelles.

Compositeur largement autodidacte, Sabat a étudié le violon à l’Université de Toronto, à la Juilliard School de New York et l’informatique musicale à l’Université McGill. Il a également travaillé en privé avec Malcolm Goldstein, James Tenney et Walter Zimmermann, entre autres. Avec Wolfgang von Schweinitz, il a mis au point la Notation de hauteur Helmholtz-Ellis JI étendue et est un pionnier de la musique instrumentale écrite et interprétée en Just Intonation microtonale. En 2000, il a cofondé le site web Plainsound Music Edition, conçu comme une édition virtuelle interdisciplinaire d’artistes.

Les œuvres de Sabat sont jouées dans le monde entier. Il enseigne la composition et la théorie et la pratique de l’intonation à l’Universität der Künste Berlin. Avec ses collègues Catherine Lamb et Rebecca Lane, il a co-initié l’Harmonic Space Orchestra en 2019.

[source: www.quatuorbozzini.ca] [ii-22]

Marc Sabat

Canada, 1965

Résidence: Berlin (Allemagne)

  • Compositeur

Sur le web

Œuvres

Concerts passés

19 mars 2022
19h30
Essis-BretonGirard-CharestKoochakzadeh-YazdiSabat
Webdiffusion
Muncie (Indiana, ÉU)
18 mars 2022
Essis-BretonGirard-CharestKoochakzadeh-YazdiSabat
Événement sans public
Montréal (Québec)
17 mars 2022
20h00
Série QB
Sabat
En salle
Montréal (Québec)
10 août 2020
19h30
Annulé
BoastMillerPinnockPusterlaSabatVassena
En salle
New York (New York, ÉU)
26 nove 2014
17h00
ArnoldLizéeSabat
En salle
Huddersfield (Angleterre, RU)
8 nove 2014
19h00
HirsNeyrinckSabat
En salle
Bois-le-Duc (Pays-Bas)
25 octo 2014
16h00
HirsNeyrinckSabat
En salle
Louvain (Belgique)