Improvisation

Suoni Per Il Popolo 2010

About

History

The collaboration between Benoît Delbecq and the Bozzini Quartet had its beginning two years ago.

The idea to put the two parties together was the brainchild of Vancouver improviser François Houle, who gave the idea to Vancouver Jazz Festival director Ken Pickering, who in turn invited the collaboration to begin there in 2008. The sound quality and improvisation styles were such a good match, and the show was so well received, that plans were very quickly in place to continue the endeavour.

Benoît Delbecq invited the quartet for a further explorative session in Montreuil, France, at Instants Chavirés, “a music venue conceived as a laboratory for improvised, experimental and noise music.”

The Bozzini Quartet is very pleased to be bringing this project home to Montréal for the first time here at the Suoni per il Popolo festival—a festival which has traditionally been the sounding board for Bozzini Quartet improvisation adventures.

Sound World

The musical experience here is unusual and notable—first of all for the smooth and appealing blend of similar sound worlds: Benoît with his prepared piano creates a warm, resonant, otherworldly sound palette—this combines with that of the string instruments to make an emotional, profound, introspective sound-space.

Improvisation Philosophy

Secondly, it must be noted that the Bozzini Quartet are of the few (or only) quartets in the world engaging in free improvisation (not linked to any jazz or classical genre). This is a strange adventure in that it requires a balance between two extremes: on one hand the quartet trains together, several hours each day, to think and act like one instrument, to build certain patterns of relationship. On the other extreme, this unity must be forgotten in order to celebrate the impulsive individuality that is so important to improvised communication.

The balance and playfulness between these two contrasting ideals is very specific to the Bozzini Quartet and is the subject of this collaboration with Benoît Delbecq—and is the basis of your experience here this evening.

Improvisation

Suoni Per Il Popolo 2010

Présentation

La rencontre

La collaboration entre Benoît Delbecq et le Quatuor Bozzini a commencé il y a deux ans. L’idée de faire jouer ensemble les cinq musiciens a été proposée par le clarinettiste-improvisateur, François Houle, qui l’a soumise au directeur du Vancouver Jazz Festival, Ken Pickering. Ce dernier a semblé la trouver excellente puisqu’en 2008, le Quatuor Bozzini et Benoît Delbecq se produisaient en concert à Vancouver. Il s’agissait d’une combinaison gagnante; la qualité sonore et le style d’improvisation ont tellement été appréciés des auditeurs que des dispositions ont rapidement été prises afin que cet événement soit répété.

Delbecq a donc invité le quatuor à une séance d’exploration à Montreuil, en France, aux Instants Chavirés, «un lieu de diffusion pensé comme un laboratoire des musiques improvisées, expérimentales, bruitistes».

C’est avec grand plaisir que le quatuor présente maintenant, pour la première fois, ce projet chez lui, à Montréal, au festival Suoni Per Il Popolo - un endroit qui a traditionnellement servi de rampe de lancement pour ses expérimentations improvisationnelles.

Le monde du son

L’expérience musicale, inusitée, en vaut la peine. D’abord à cause du croisement irrésistiblement fluide entre deux mondes sonores similaires. Le piano préparé de Benoît produit une palette de sons venus d’ailleurs, qui résonnent chaleureusement en s’entremêlant avec ceux des cordes pour former un espace sonore profondément émouvant, intense et intime.

La philosophie derrière l’improvisation

Ensuite, il faut souligner que le Quatuor Bozzini est un des rares (s’il n’est pas le seul) dans ce monde à faire de l’improvisation (non reliée au jazz ou à un autre style classique). Cette proposition un peu spéciale demande à ses aventureux musiciens de trouver l’équilibre entre deux situations extrêmes. D’un côté, ils doivent s’entraîner quelques heures chaque jour afin de penser et d’agir comme un seul instrument, pour bâtir une structure d’interrelations musicales. De l’autre, au moment de célébrer l’individualité et l’impulsivité requises dans l’improvisation, les musiciens doivent se jeter dans l’invention, seuls et sans filet.

La recherche de ce délicat équilibre, de ce jeu subtil entre deux idées contraires, est le fondement de la proposition qui vous est faite ce soir, la raison d’être de la rencontre entre Benoît Delbecq et le Quatuor Bozzini.