Concert

Bozzini Lab Vancouver 2013

  • June 11, 2013
    6:00 pm
Goldcorp Centre for the Arts — SFU
149 West Hastings Street — Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada

Bozzini Lab Vancouver 2013

On June 3-11, 2013 acclaimed Montreal string quartet Quatuor Bozzini will give an intensive workshop on composing for strings in Vancouver (BC). Hosted by the School for the Contemporary Arts at SFU, the workshop is intended for young composers in the earlier stages of their studies or artistic development.Besides the quartet, composers Owen Underhill (SFU) and Christopher Butterfield (UVIC) will act as mentors.

The goals of the workshop are to improve technical skills for contemporary writing for strings and string quartet, and to provide a supportive environment for visionary compositional ideas. Those accepted to the workshop will be given composition exercises as a starting point for the week’s work, which they will be expected to prepare in advance. Finished works for string quartet are not required by the start of the course.

A public presentation will be held at the end of the week to present work done during the workshop.

The cost is CAN $650. Participants will be expected to arrange their own travel and accommodation. The program will take place in Simon Fraser University’s new cultural facility, the Goldcorp Centre for the Arts, in downtown Vancouver.

Applicants should submit scores and live recordings (if available) of two recent compositions in any genre; a short outline for a creatively ambitious new work for string quartet; and a resumé, to: office@quatuorbozzini.ca. Deadline for applications to be received is Monday, February 4th, 2013. Participants will be announced by mid-March.

Participant Composers

  • Mitch Renaud
  • Roydon Tse
  • Liew Kongmeng
  • Clinton Ackerman
  • Daniel Miller
  • Christine Lee
  • Alexandre Belzile
  • David Foley
  • Arnaud Korth
  • Maren Lisac
  • Patrick Arteaga

Mentor Composers

  • Owen Underhill
  • Christopher Butterfield

Concert

Bozzini Lab Vancouver 2013

  • 11 juin 2013
    18h00
Goldcorp Centre for the Arts — SFU
149 West Hastings Street — Vancouver, Colombie-Britannique, Canada

Bozzini Lab Vancouver 2013

Du 3 au 11 juin 2013 le renommé Quatuor Bozzini donnera un atelier intensif sur l’écriture pour cordes à l’école d’art contemporain de l’université Simon Fraser à Vancouver (BC), hôte du programme. L’atelier est dédié à des jeunes compositeurs qui sont au début de leurs études ou de leur développement artistique. Les compositeurs Owen Underhill et Christopher Butterfield deviendront pour l’occasion mentors, aux côtés du Quatuor Bozzini.

Les objectifs sont: l’amélioration des habiletés techniques en écriture de musique contemporaine pour les cordes et le quatuor à cordes et l’apprentissage d’idées créatives dans un environnement entièrement dédié à cette cause. Les participants commenceront la semaine par des exercices de composition, qu’ils devront produire à l’avance. Notez qu’il n’est pas obligatoire d’arriver avec une œuvre finie au début du cours.

L’atelier clôturera avec un concert public rendant compte du travail accompli pendant la semaine.

Les participants devront débourser chacun 650$CA, en plus des frais de voyage et d’hébergement. Les cours se dérouleront au nouveau complexe culturel Goldcorp Centre for the Arts (SFU), au centre-ville de Vancouver.

Les personnes intéressées doivent soumettre des partitions et des enregistrements en direct (si disponibles) de deux œuvres composées récemment, une proposition concise pour une œuvre d’envergure de musique nouvelle pour quatuor à cordes, et un curriculum vitae, à: office@quatuorbozzini.ca.

La date limite pour s’inscrire est le 4 février 2013. Les personnes retenues seront contactées à la mi-mars.

Compositeurs participants

  • Mitch Renaud
  • Roydon Tse
  • Liew Kongmeng
  • Clinton Ackerman
  • Daniel Miller
  • Christine Lee
  • Alexandre Belzile
  • David Foley
  • Arnaud Korth
  • Maren Lisac
  • Patrick Arteaga

Compositeurs mentors

  • Owen Underhill
  • Christopher Butterfield