Concert des participants

Performer’s Kitchen 2014-15

  • October 3, 2014
    7:30 pm
Maison des Jeunesses musicales du Canada
305, avenue du Mont-Royal Est — Montréal, Québec

Performer’s Kitchen 2014-15

The Performer’s Kitchen is a constantly evolving event aimed at putting young and emerging performers in close contact with specialists in the field of new music performance. The quartet runs this workshop series once or twice a year, and for only a small group of interested performers.

About

The quartet has invited their friend and collaborator Jürg Frey, Swiss composer/clarinetist and member of the famed Wandelweiser Group, to mentor 2014-2015’s first Performer’s Kitchen. From September 30th to October 3rd, Jürg Frey and Bozzini Quartet will run workshops for nine emerging performers in Montreal in an intimate setting. Mentors and participants will exchange on issues of contemporary music performance, with a special focus on aesthetic and performance practice of the Wandelweiser group. Their repertoire includes experimental chamber pieces written by Frey and other Wandelweiser composers, including Montreal’s Sam Sfirri. The Performer’s Kitchen will conclude with a public performance of these works.

We would be delighted for you to share in the performances of Frey’s music by the quartet and our nine excellent participants!

On Wandelweiser music

Wandelweiser composer Radu Malfatti describes their music as “the evaluation and integration of silence (s) rather than an ongoing carpet of never-ending sounds.” Although stunningly beautiful in performance, this music is often considered a fringe aesthetic and tends to find its home in interdisciplinary contexts more than concert halls. The music often unravels overtime and is accessible to all listeners who are willing to allow themselves the time to listen.

Performer’s Kitchen is co-presented by Suoni per il popolo.

Concert des participants

Performer’s Kitchen 2014-15

  • 3 octobre 2014
    19h30
Maison des Jeunesses musicales du Canada
305, avenue du Mont-Royal Est — Montréal, Québec

Performer’s Kitchen 2014-15

Le Performer’s Kitchen est le plus récent des «ateliers-labs» du Quatuor Bozzini. En constante évolution, cet événement est consacré à la relève et s’adresse aux jeunes interprètes qui désirent peaufiner leur expérience en musique actuelle en les mettant en contact avec des spécialistes du milieu musical contemporain.

Présentation

Pour cette première édition de l’atelier en 2014-15, le quatuor invite Jürg Frey, un ami et collaborateur de longue date. Compositeur d’origine suisse et clarinettiste du renommé Wandelweiser Ensemble, Frey se joindra au Quatuor Bozzini du 30 septembre au 3 octobre pour donner une série d’ateliers à Montréal avec 9 instrumentistes de la relève, le tout dans une atmosphère intime et conviviale. Les mentors et participants échangeront sur différentes pratiques reliées à l’interprétation de la musique contemporaine, avec une attention particulière portée sur l’esthétique et les techniques propres du Wandelweiser Ensemble.

Le répertoire joué inclura des pièces expérimentales de musique de chambre composées par Frey et d’autres membres du Wandelweiser ainsi qu’une œuvre du compositeur montréalais Sam Sfirri. Le concert final présentera les œuvres travaillées en ateliers.

En espérant partager avec vous ainsi qu’aux côtés des 9 participants de l’atelier la merveilleuse musique de Jürg Frey!

Sur la musique Wandelweiser

Le compositeur Wandelweiser Radu Malfatti, décrit leur musique comme une «évaluation» et une «intégration» du silence/de silences; elle n’est en aucun cas «un tapis de sons se déroulant à l’infini». Malgré qu’elle soit d’une beauté stupéfiante en concert, cette musique marginale se retrouve plus souvent dans des contextes interdisciplinaires que dans les salles de concert. Très souvent, leur performance déborde des limites temporelles ordinaires, ceci dans le but de donner du temps aux auditeurs intéressés à écouter vraiment.

Le Performer’s Kitchen est une co-présentation avec Suoni per il popolo.