Musique de chambre (noire)

Akousma 12

  • [Image: Nathalie Bujold]
  • [Image: Nathalie Bujold]
  • [Image: Nathalie Bujold, 2012]
  • [Image: Nathalie Bujold, 2012]
  • [Photograph: Nathalie Bujold]

Participants

Programme

Description

This event is part of the Musique de chambre (noire) project.

This show-concert intimately blends manipulated images by videographer, Nathalie Bujold, with evoking music by composer, Taylor Brook, and by Quatuor Bozzini, who ventures in unpublished explorations. This creative collaboration results in a constant “trialogue” between the live ensemble, the images, and the soundtrack.

Nathalie Bujold’s approach was to produce images with the sound, to create sound with the images, and to embrace the challenge of integrating Taylor Brook’s propositions and Quatuor Bozzini’s live music as a whole.

The public was able to appreciate one aspect of this collaboration during the presentation of the installation, Études vidéographiques pour instruments à cordes, by Nathalie Bujold at the Cinémathèque québécoise in April 2015, as a part of and in collaboration with the Festival international des films sur l’art.

This time, it is the performance version of the original samples and improvisations that are featured. To complement the intimate and unornamented images of stringed instruments, the rich landscapes of Salt Spring Island (BC), captured during a first residency at the ArtSpring Centre in 2012, are integrated into the canvas.

The works Breaking Out, Stagger and Quatuor de quatuors by Taylor Brook and the musicians’ multitude of improvisations accentuate the images. The result: a most dynamic visual and musical fresco!

  • Performance of written and improvised music: Quatuor Bozzini
  • Composition of written music: Taylor Brook
  • Videos — image and sound: Nathalie Bujold
  • Sound: Pierre-Marc Beaudoin

Co-produced by Quatuor Bozzini and the Cinémathèque québécoise, and presented as part of Akousma 12.

Musique de chambre (noire)

Akousma 12

  • [Image: Nathalie Bujold]
  • [Image: Nathalie Bujold]
  • [Image: Nathalie Bujold, 2012]
  • [Image: Nathalie Bujold, 2012]
  • [Photo: Nathalie Bujold]

Participants

Programme

Description

Cet événement fait partie du projet Musique de chambre (noire).

Ce spectacle-concert mêle intimement les images ouvragées de la vidéaste Nathalie Bujold avec la musique évocatrice du compositeur Taylor Brook, et celle du Quatuor Bozzini qui s’aventure dans des explorations inédites. De cette collaboration créative ressort un «trialogue» constant entre l’ensemble sur scène, les images et la trame sonore.

L’ approche de Nathalie Bujold a été de produire des images avec le son, de créer du son avec les images et former le pari d’intégrer le tout avec les propositions de Taylor Brook et la musique vivante du Quatuor Bozzini.

Le public a pu apprécier un volet de cette collaboration lors de la présentation de l’installation Études vidéographiques pour instruments à cordes de Nathalie Bujold, à la Cinémathèque québécoise en avril 2015, dans le cadre et en collaboration avec le Festival international des films sur l’art.

Cette fois, c’est la version performative des échantillonnages et improvisations qui est mise de l’avant. Pour compléter les cadrages intimes et épurés des instruments à cordes, de riches paysages de Salt Spring Island (CB) issus d’une première résidence au ArtSpring Centre en 2012 viennent se greffer au canevas.

Les œuvres Breaking Out, Stagger et Quatuor de quatuors de Taylor Brook et les multiples improvisations des musiciens ponctuent les images. Le résultat: une fresque visuelle et musicale des plus dynamique!

  • Interprétation musiques écrites et improvisées: Quatuor Bozzini
  • Composition des musiques écrites: Taylor Brook
  • Vidéos — image et son: Nathalie Bujold
  • Sonorisation: Pierre-Marc Beaudoin

Coproduit par le Quatuor Bozzini et la Cinémathèque québécoise, et présenté dans le cadre de Akousma 12.