Workshop

Performer’s Kitchen Intensive 2016

  • June 3 to June 23, 2016
Département de musique — Pavillon Molson — Université Concordia
1450, rue Guy, 8e étage — Montréal, Québec

Performer’s Kitchen Intensive 2016

Following our successful Performer’s Kitchen concerts and Concordia Creative Music Institute program, Concordia University and Quatuor Bozzini have come together to create a new intensive course for performers: Performer’s Kitchen Intensive. Available for university credit or for non-credit, this multi-faceted course is for performers who want to develop the creative and production skills necessary to be a successful contemporary musician.

Course description

A study, through performance, of ensemble and solo works of recent composition or based on improvisatory and collaborative practices. Students will also learn basic entrepreneurship and marketing, and be introduced to funding programs, concert production, and legal issues for artists. Participation in public performances is required. Students will be responsible for the promotion and organization of the concert performances. Students will have the opportunity to work with visual artists in the production of graphic scores, video, or interactive elements in their performances.

Each participant or ensemble should prepare one or more pieces they would like to study. Other pieces will be assigned or created during the course. All participants will create and produce their final concert, which will be assessed by peers and faculty in a discussion and report on the last day of the course.

The fee is $1500 CAD for non-credit or the applicable student tuition fees (in-province, out-of-province, international) for a 3-credit course.

We hope that you will join us for Performer’s Kitchen Intensive June 2016 and please direct any additional questions to education@quatuorbozzini.ca

Registration

Atelier

Performer’s Kitchen Intensive 2016

  • 3 juin au 23 juin 2016
Département de musique — Pavillon Molson — Université Concordia
1450, rue Guy, 8e étage — Montréal, Québec

Performer’s Kitchen Intensive 2016

L’Université Concordia et le Quatuor Bozzini s’unissent pour offrir un nouveau cours intensif pour les instrumentistes: Performer’s Kitchen Intensive. Disponible pour crédit universitaire ou non, ce cours à multiples facettes est offert aux instrumentistes qui veulent développer les habiletés créatives et de production nécessaires afin de devenir un musicien contemporain accompli.

Description du cours

Les étudiants travailleront, en solo et en ensemble, l’interprétation d’œuvres écrites de composition récentes et/ou basées sur des pratiques collaboratives ou d’improvisation. L’accent sera également mis sur les compétences de base en entreprenariat et mise en marché, incluant l’initiation aux différents programmes et sources de financement, à la production de concert et aux aspects légaux concernant les artistes. Les étudiants seront responsables de la promotion et l’organisation des concerts, et ils auront l’opportunité de travailler avec des artistes visuels pour la production de partitions graphiques, vidéo, ou pour des éléments interactifs dans leur prestations. La participation aux concerts est requise.

Chaque participant ou ensemble doit préparer un minimum d’une pièce à étudier. D’autres pièces seront assignées ou créées durant le cours. Tous les participants créeront et produiront leur concert final, qui sera évalué par les pairs et les professeurs sous forme d’une discussion et d’un rapport lors du dernier jour de classe.

Les frais sont de 1500$ CAD pour le cours sans crédit ou du montant de droits de scolarité applicable (résident Québec, non-résident Québec, international) pour un cours de 3 crédits.

Nous espérons que vous vous joindrez à nous pour le Performer’s Kitchen Intensive June 2016 et nous vous prions d’adresser toutes autres questions à education@quatuorbozzini.ca

Inscription