Imaginaire Nord

  • Saturday, March 27, 2021 2:30 pm
    Montréal (Québec)
    • Online event
    • Live
  • Sunday, March 28 – Saturday, April 10, 2021
    • Online event

Participants

Programme

Description

Jean Paul Riopelle’s paintings are limitless in bounds of matter and texture. His knife strokes and multimedia techniques inspired two of the works on this program, both of which were written for Quatuor Bozzini; Icebergs et Soleil de minuit by Simon Martin, and du nord, a world premiere and new commission by Quatuor Bozzini’s own Alissa Cheung.

Set up as a series of musical paintings, Martin’s Icebergs et Soleil de minuit plays with chance and variation in a continuous process of discovery. Cheung explores similar themes of change and exploration in du nord; fascinated by aviary migration and the depiction of birds in Riopelle’s work, the piece highlights the interplay and communal nature of the string quartet as an ensemble. Cheung writes that “in light of current events, this piece is a call to remain strong and united in our communities. It is also a call to conservancy of wetlands and other vital ecosystems so that we can continue to learn from and be inspired by nature.”

Inuk throat singer Tanya Tagaq brings “a little bit of the land to future musicians” through her piece Sivunnittinni (the future ones), urging people to re-evaluate their relationship to health, nature, and social living. Rhythmic and textured, the strings reproduce sounds of breaking ice and sometimes err closer to what might even be qualified as noise.

Complementing the aural palette of the programme is Erik Satie’s set of five Nocturnes for piano, arranged for string quartet by Canadian composer Christopher Butterfield. Free of Satie’s usual expressive humour, the suite is remarkably stark in terms of extramusical material, and yet offers a potently expressive perspective through its rich harmonic narrative.

Although written in 1989, Jolas’s work pays homage to Satie’s time period in the way that it echoes Webern’s style (op. 5 and op.9). As if looking through a microscope at a miniature piece, Jolas’s “Menus propos” is brought to life by a kaleidoscope of minute gestures through 4 short pieces.

Presented in conjunction with the Montréal Museum of Fine art, the virtuosity, shimmering colours and timbral explorations of each of these composers will showcase Quatuor Bozzini’s full range and artistry.

Kim Farris-Manning

Concert presented by Fondation Arte Musica — Salle Bourgie in connection with the exhibition Riopelle: The Call of the Northern Lights and Indigenous Culture of the Montreal Museum of Fine Arts.

Imaginaire Nord

  • Samedi 27 mars 2021 14h30
    Montréal (Québec)
    • Webdiffusion
    • En direct
  • Dimanche 28 mars – samedi 10 avril 2021
    • Webdiffusion

Participants

Programme

Description

Les tableaux de Jean Paul Riopelle sont illimités en matière de matériaux et textures. Ses techniques au couteau à palette et multimédia ont inspiré deux des œuvres au programme, toutes deux écrites pour le Quatuor Bozzini; Icebergs et Soleil de minuit de Simon Martin, et du nord, une création mondiale par Alissa Cheung qui est également violoniste au Quatuor Bozzini.

Icebergs et Soleil de minuit de Martin se déploie en une série de tableaux en musique et joue avec les idées de hasard et de variation. Cheung explore ces thèmes similaires dans du nord; fascinée par les migrations aviaires et la représentation d’oiseaux dans les œuvres de Riopelle, elle met en lumière dans sa pièce l’interaction et la nature communautaire du quatuor à cordes comme ensemble. Cheung écrit «À la lumière des évènements récents, cette pièce est un appel à nos communautés à demeurer fortes et unies. C’est aussi un appel à préserver les milieux humides et les autres écosystèmes vitaux afin que nous puissions continuer à apprendre de la nature et à nous en inspirer».

La chanteuse de gorge Inuk Tanya Tagaq apporte «un peu de la terre aux musiciens futurs» avec sa pièce Sivunnittinni (the future ones), exhortant les gens à réévaluer leur relation avec la santé, la nature et la vie sociale. Rythmiques et texturées, les cordes reproduisent des sons de bris de glace et parfois se rapprochent de ce que l’on pourrait même qualifier de bruit.

La série de cinq Nocturnes pour piano d’Érik Satie complète la palette de styles du programme, arrangée pour quatuor à cordes par le compositeur canadien Christopher Butterfield. Libérée de l’humour expressif habituel de Satie, la suite est remarquablement austère en termes de matériel extramusical, et offre pourtant une perspective puissamment expressive à travers son riche récit harmonique.

Bien qu’écrit en 1989, le quatuor de Jolas rend hommage à l’époque de Satie en faisant écho au style de Webern (op. 5 et op. 9). Comme si on observait au microscope une pièce miniature, les «Menus propos» de Jolas sont animés par un kaléidoscope de gestes infimes à travers 4 courtes pièces.

Présenté en collaboration avec le Musée des beaux-arts de Montréal, ce concert met de l’avant la virtuosité, les couleurs chatoyantes et les explorations timbrales de chacun des compositeurs à travers l’éventail sonore et tout l’art du Quatuor Bozzini.

Kim Farris-Manning. Traduction française: Yves Charuest

Concert présenté par la Fondation Arte Musica — Salle Bourgie en lien avec l’exposition Riopelle: à la rencontre des territoires nordiques et des cultures autochtones du Musée des beaux-arts de Montréal.