Composer’s Kitchen 2017 – Quatuor Bozzini and Embedded

Quatuor Bozzini is pleased to partner again with Embedded (the flagship program of the UK agency Sound and Music) for Composer’s Kitchen 2017. This unique event revolving around the quartet is a combination of a workshop, laboratory, playground, and master class. Over the course of a week, Quatuor Bozzini and two mentor composers observe the work of four up-and-coming composers. This exchange will provide the opportunity for two Canadian and two UK composers to come together, with all four attending the Canadian workshops and performance (April 18-25, 2017) and a culmination of the Composer’s Kitchen edition in October 2017 in the UK.

// Details of the development process:

The selected composers will have the opportunity to develop a new 10 – 15’ work for string quartet across 2 defined periods (see below). The compositions will be read, played, assessed, analyzed, worked on, played again and performed in a laboratory concert in Canada before being refreshed and reviewed prior to a final performance in the UK in Fall 2017.

// The chosen composers will have the opportunity to:

Develop the work with mentored support: the composers will be supported throughout the project by mentors Linda Catlin Smith and Bryn Harrison.

Get to know the quartet by engaging with their activity throughout the project: composers can have the opportunity to discuss aspects of the working life of the quartet including programming, planning tours and events, funding, marketing and audience development.

// Timetable for the project:

18 November 2016 Deadline for applications
end of November 2016 Notification of interviews
early December 2016 Interviews via Skype
18-25 April 2017 Composer’s Kitchen Workshop in Montreal (Period 1)
October 2017 (Dates TBA) Composer’s Kitchen Workshop in UK (Period 2)

// Selection process:

A selection panel will shortlist individuals for interview. Interviews for Canadian composers will take place early December 2016 via Skype. 2 composers will be chosen following the interview.

// Eligibility:

• you must be a Canadian citizen or permanent resident
• this must represent a significant development opportunity for you
• you must be able to invest the designated time with Quatuor Bozzini and have time to create a new 10 – 15 minute quartet for the group.

// How to apply:

Canadian composers only should apply to Composer’s Kitchen via the Quatuor Bozzini website. All British national or British resident composers should apply through Sound and Music’s Embedded scheme. For any queries please contact office@quatuorbozzini.ca.

// Deadline for applications:

Friday November 18 2016 for Canadian composers
Late applications cannot be considered
Shortlisted composers will be notified by early December 2016

By continuing browsing our site, you agree to the use of cookies, which allow audience analytics.

Composer’s Kitchen 2017 – Quatuor Bozzini et Embedded

Le Quatuor Bozzini est fier d'annoncer un renouvellement de notre partenariat avec Embedded (le programme phare de l'agence britannique Sound and Music) pour le projet d'échange du Composer's Kitchen 2017. Cet événement unique centré sur le quatuor à cordes fusionne les concepts d’atelier, de laboratoire, de salle de jeu et de cours de maître. Pendant une semaine, le quatuor et deux compositeurs chevronnés se penchent sur l’œuvre de jeunes compositeurs et compositrices de la génération montante. Cet échange donne l'occasion à 2 jeunes canadiens et à 2 jeunes britanniques de se rencontrer, lors d'un premier atelier et concert à Montréal (18-25 avril 2017), puis de récidiver lors de l'édition d'octobre 2017 au Royaume-Uni.

// Détails sur le processus de travail:

Les compositeurs choisis auront l'occasion de développer une nouvelle œuvre de 10 – 15’ pour quatuor à cordes durant 2 périodes déterminées (voir ci-dessous). Leur pièce sera lue, décortiquée, commentée, travaillée, analysée, rejouée, puis exécutée en concert à la clôture du premier atelier. La deuxième période permet de rafraîchir et amener à maturité les pièces créées à Montréal, avant présentation en concert au Royaume-Uni en automne 2017.

// Opportunités supplémentaires:

Développer l'œuvre dans le cadre du mentorat: les compositeurs pourront bénéficier des conseils de nos mentors Linda Catlin Smith et Bryn Harrison pour la durée du projet.

Apprendre à connaître le quatuor en suivant de près ses activités pour la durée du projet: les compositeurs auront l'occasion de discuter différents aspects de la vie professionnelle du quatuor, tel que la programmation, la planification d'événements et de tournées, le financement, les communications et le développement de public.

// Échéancier du projet:

18 novembre 2016 Date limite de la demande
fin novembre 2016 Annonce des candidats présélectionnés
début décembre 2016 Entrevues par Skype
18-25 avril 2017 Atelier Composer's Kitchen à Montreal (Période 1)
octobre 2017 Atelier Composer's Kitchen au Royaume-Uni (Période 2)
(dates à déterminer)

// Processus de sélection:

Un jury présélectionnera des compositeurs en vue d'une entrevue. Les entrevues pour les compositeurs canadiens auront lieu début décembre 2016 par Skype. 2 compositeurs canadiens seront choisis à la suite de l'entrevue.

// Critères d'éligibilité:

• doit être citoyen canadien ou résident permanent
• doit être disponible pour investir le temps demandé avec le Quatuor Bozzini et aussi s’engage de créer une nouvelle oeuvre de quatuor à cordes de 10-15 min
• le CK doit représenter une opportunité de développement significative pour vous

// Comment soumettre une demande:

Les compositeurs canadiens et résidents canadiens doivent soumettre leur demande seulement sur le site web du Quatuor Bozzini. Tous les citoyens britanniques et résidents britanniques doivent soumettre leur demande via le programme Embedded de Sound and Music. Pour toutes questions, contactez: office@quatuorbozzini.ca

// Date limite d'inscription:

vendredi 18 novembre 2016 pour les compositeurs canadiens
Les demandes retardataires ne seront pas considérées
Les candidats finalistes retenus seront avisés au début décembre 2016