Bozzini Lab Montreal 2015

The Quatuor Bozzini will give an intensive workshop on composing for strings from August 25 - September 1 2015 in Montreal. Hosted by Concordia Univeristy, the workshop is intended for students who are in undergraduate or graduate composition programs, or who have recently graduated.

The goals of the workshop are to improve technical skills for contemporary writing for strings and string quartet, and to provide a supportive environment for visionary compositional ideas.

Those accepted to the workshop will be given composition exercises as a starting point for the week’s work, which they will be expected to prepare in advance. Finished works for string quartet are not required by the start of the course. A public presentation will be held at the end of the week to present work done during the workshop.

The participation fee is CAN $750. Participants will be expected to arrange their own travel and accommodation. The program will take place at the Molson Pavillion at Concordia University in downtown Montreal.

// How to apply:
Interested composers should apply to the Bozzini Lab via the Quatuor Bozzini website.

// Deadline for applications:

  • Friday May 22 2015
  • Selected participants will be notified in early June.

Bozzini Lab Montréal 2015

Du 25 août au 1er septembre 2015, le Quatuor Bozzini donnera un atelier intensif sur l’écriture pour cordes à l'Université Concordia à Montréal. L’atelier est dédié aux étudiants inscrits au 1er ou 2e cycle en composition, ou qui ont récemment obtenu leur diplôme.

Les objectifs sont l’amélioration des habiletés techniques en écriture de musique contemporaine pour les cordes et le quatuor à cordes et l’apprentissage d’idées créatives dans un environnement entièrement dédié à cette cause.

Les participants commenceront la semaine par des exercices de composition, qu’ils devront produire à l’avance. Notez qu’il n’est pas obligatoire d’arriver avec une œuvre finie à l’atelier. Celui-ci se terminera avec un concert public rendant compte du travail accompli pendant la semaine.

Les compositeurs participants auront à débourser des frais de participation de 750 $ (CAD), en plus des frais de voyage et d’hébergement. Les cours se dérouleront au Pavillon Molson de l'Université Concordia, au centre-ville de Montréal.

// Comment soumettre une demande:
Les personnes intéressées doivent soumettre leur demande sur le site web du Quatuor Bozzini.

// Date limite d'inscription:

  • Le vendredi 22 mai 2015
  • Les candidats finalistes retenus seront avisés au début juin.