Biography

Nadia Francavilla

  • Montréal, Québec, 1967
  • Performer (violin)

Born in Montréal, violinist Nadia Francavilla is both an accomplished recitalist and outstanding chamber musician. After having been a member of the Quatuor Arthur‑Leblanc for many years, she is now playing with the Quatuor Bozzini and makes frequent tours in Canada, the United States and Europe. A graduate of McGill University, she received solid musical training under the direction of Mauricio Fuks, Rafael Druian and Joseph Silverstein.

She is also a member of Motion Ensemble which explores new horizons in improvisation, electronics, aleatory music and multimedia. In 2006, she joined percussionist D’Arcy Gray to form Les Moineaux d’Entendre. This collective was conceived to bring their various influences (contemporary music, fluxus-style theatre, live electronics, etc.) together into one ensemble to encourage collaborations with other artists and break the conventions of traditional concert settings.

Diversified, the journey of this artist reflects her commitment towards many different forms of musical creativity. Her participation in different contemporary music ensembles also demonstrates her great interest towards music of our time. In addition, Radio-Canada and CBC frequently draw on her musical experience for premieres and recordings of Canadian works.

[source: www.quatuorbozzini.ca] [ii-09]

On Disc

  • Le Mensonge et l’Identité, written with four hands by the duo Derome/Hétu, was premiered at Deutschlandfunk’s Forum Neue Musik in 2008…
  • Bozzini Quartet joins forces with composer Michel Gonneville for a unique contemporary opera on the “hot” issue of the ecological crisis, based on the thoughts of eminent Quebecois ecologist Pierre Dansereau…
  • The sixth volume of the collection, Arbor Vitæ, pays homage to the Canadian-American composer James Tenney with performances of the complete quartets and quintets…
  • Two contemporary artists, each strong and distinct…
  • “Material can be anonymous…
  • On October 13th, 2005 DAME is proud to present the second Collection QB release: Different Trains by Steve Reich performed by Bozzini Quartet…
  • Moving freely from avant-garde events to traditional concerts, the Bozzini Quartet was characterized by the Irish Times as a “group which gets its teeth into music: quiet or loud, fast or slow, these Canadian musicians play with compelling engagement…

Biographie

Nadia Francavilla

  • Montréal, Québec, 1967
  • Interprète (violon)

Née à Montréal, la violoniste Nadia Francavilla est une concertiste accomplie et une chambriste au talent exceptionnel. Diplômée de l’Université McGill, elle a parfait sa formation auprès de Mauricio Fuks, Rafael Druian et Joseph Silverstein. Après avoir été membre du Quatuor Arthur‑Leblanc pendant plusieurs années, elle s’est jointe au Quatuor Bozzini avec lequel elle effectue régulièrement des tournées au Canada, aux États-Unis et en Europe.

Nadia Francavilla est également membre du Motion Ensemble, qui se consacre à l’exploration de nouveaux horizons dans les univers de l’improvisation, de l’électronique, de l’aléatoire et du multimédia. En 2006, elle a formé Les Moineaux d’Entendre avec le percussionniste D’Arcy Gray. Riche des diverses influences des deux musiciens (musique contemporaine, théâtre Fluxus et électronique en direct, etc.), ce collectif cherche à favoriser les collaborations avec d’autres artistes et à briser les conventions du concert traditionnel.

Très diversifié, le parcours de cette artiste témoigne de son engagement envers de nombreuses formes de création musicale. Sa présence au sein de différents ensembles de musique contemporaine démontre également le grand intérêt qu’elle porte à la musique de notre temps. En outre, la Société Radio-Canada et la CBC ont souvent diffusé des créations et des enregistrements d’œuvres canadiennes auxquels elle a participé.

[source: www.quatuorbozzini.ca] [ii-09]

Disques

  • Cette partition, écrite à quatre mains par le duo Derome-Hétu, a été commandée et créée en 2008, dans le cadre du Forum Neue Musik 08 de la Deutschlandfunk, par le Quatuor Bozzini, une célèbre famille de cordes dont l’engagement dans la création n’est plus à défendre…
  • Le Quatuor Bozzini s’unit au compositeur Michel Gonneville pour créer un opéra contemporain unique sur le thème «chaud» de la crise écologique, inspiré par les réflexions de l’éminent écologiste québécois Pierre Dansereau…
  • Sixième volume de la collection, Arbor Vitæ rend hommage au compositeur canado-américain James Tenney en réunissant dans un même opus l’intégrale de ses quatuors et quintettes…
  • Deux voix fortes et distinctes: du long déploiement des canons de Skempton aux hoquets immuables de Kondo…
  • «Le matériau peut être anonyme…
  • DAME est fière de présenter le 13 octobre 2005 le deuxième titre de la Collection QB — Different Trains de Steve Reich interprétée par le Quatuor Bozzini…
  • Voguant librement entre l’événement d’avant-garde et le concert traditionnel, le Quatuor Bozzini est un groupe qui mord dans la musique à pleines dents et joue avec une passion irrésistible, selon le Irish Times…