Biography

Bozzini Quartet

Since 1999, Quatuor Bozzini has been an original voice in new, experimental and classical music. Their skew is radically contemporary, propelling the hyper-creative Montréal scene, and beyond. Not content to parlay received wisdom, the quartet cultivates an ethos of risk-taking, and boldly venture off the beaten track. Quatuor Bozzini stands out with their “extraordinary playing.” (Alex Ross, The New Yorker). With rigorous qualitative criteria, they have nurtured a vastly diverse repertoire, unbiased by the currents of fashion. This has led to close to two hundred commissioned pieces, as well as over three hundred premiered works. A Quatuor Bozzini concert is an intensely shared experience, with meticulous and sensuous attention to detail.

Praised by its “intense musicality and immense sensitivity” (Musicworks, Canada), Quatuor Bozzini was qualified in the Bandcamp Daily as “one of the most daring string quartets of the entire world.” The group presents an annual concert series in Montréal and also tours extensively in Canada, the US, South America and Europe. Notable festivals and venues include MärzMusik (Berlin), Ultima (Oslo), Huddersfield (UK), Klangspuren (Austria), Tsuda Hall (Tokyo), Musiekgebouw (Amsterdam), November Music (Netherlands), Présences (France), Kortrijk (Belgium), TimeSpans (NYC), Porgy&Bess (Vienna) and Other Minds (San Francisco). To ensure continual development in their art, the quartet’s musical laboratories, the Composer’s Kitchen, Performer’s Kitchen and Bozzini Lab, work to mentor and support new generations of composers and performers. The quartet runs its own recording label, Collection QB, and has issued critically acclaimed albums, many of which have become reference recordings in the discipline. They also have issued albums with Edition Wandelweiser, Another Timbre, Wergo-Deutscher Musikrat, Centrediscs and ATMA Classique.

In 2018, Quatuor Bozzini was awarded the “Performer of the Year” Opus Prize by the Conseil québécois de la musique. Finalist to the 28th Grand Prix (Conseil des arts de Montréal, 2012), Quatuor Bozzini is also the recipient of three Opus Prizes “International Outreach” (2007), “Contemporary Disc of the Year” (2004), and “Discovery of the Year” (2001) as well as the Étoile-Galaxie Prize from Radio-Canada (2001), the Förderpreis Ernst von Siemens Musikstiftung (2007), the German Record Critics Prize for Arbor Vitae (2009) and the 2014 Friends of Canadian Music Award.

[source: www.quatuorbozzini.ca] [iv-18]

On Disc

  • A Canada Council for the Arts commission, dedicated to Quatuor Bozzini…
  • The first in the Canadian Composers Series of CDs is a double album of chamber works by Linda Catlin Smith, who was born in New York, but studied in Canada and has lived in Toronto for over 25 years…
  • The five pieces on this disc span roughly twenty years: Lullaby was written in 1991, and fall in 2013…
  • “It has been my conviction for a number of years that Music (and Art in general) must simply assume the humble task of describing its own end, or at any rate its gradual extinction,” wrote Italian maestro Aldo Clementi (1925—2011) in 1973…
  • The string quartet sounds sometimes like the silence of a square, a room, a wall or a landscape…
  • An inspiring visit of the exhibit Leduc, Borduas et le paysage de Saint-Hilaire, presented in 2005 by the Musée des beaux-arts de Mont-Saint-Hilaire, incited a desire to compose works paying hommage to these two painters as well as to Riopelle…
  • A new vision of John Cage, via his complete works for string quartet…
  • The four pieces for string quartet recorded here, including a quintet with trombone and clarinet respectively, span a period of 1997-2011…
  • A vibrant portrait of the state of the art in Canadian new music…
  • I think of my fundamental activity as a musician as listening, especially to music…
  • Sehr langsam “Very slow” — a tempo indication, as well as the title of this piece…
  • Le Mensonge et l’Identité, written with four hands by the duo Derome/Hétu, was premiered at Deutschlandfunk’s Forum Neue Musik in 2008…
  • Bozzini Quartet joins forces with composer Michel Gonneville for a unique contemporary opera on the “hot” issue of the ecological crisis, based on the thoughts of eminent Quebecois ecologist Pierre Dansereau…
  • The sixth volume of the collection, Arbor Vitæ, pays homage to the Canadian-American composer James Tenney with performances of the complete quartets and quintets…
  • Experimental music, like Thomas Stiegler’s, invites the listener to find his way through unfamiliar acoustical environments…
  • Two contemporary artists, each strong and distinct…
  • “Material can be anonymous…
  • On October 13th, 2005 DAME is proud to present the second Collection QB release: Different Trains by Steve Reich performed by Bozzini Quartet…
  • Moving freely from avant-garde events to traditional concerts, the Bozzini Quartet was characterized by the Irish Times as a “group which gets its teeth into music: quiet or loud, fast or slow, these Canadian musicians play with compelling engagement…

Biographie

Quatuor Bozzini

Depuis sa fondation à Montréal en 1999, le Quatuor Bozzini œuvre dans les domaines des musiques nouvelle, expérimentale et classique. Ensemble radicalement contemporain dans un milieu en extrême effervescence, il cultive le sens du risque et emprunte résolument les voies moins fréquentées, rejetant d’emblée les idées reçues. Le Quatuor Bozzini se démarque par un «jeu extraordinaire» (Alex Ross, The New Yorker); il offre à ses auditeurs des prestations brillantes et rigoureuses dans une atmosphère toujours inspirante. Construisant avec soin un répertoire diversifié qui ne cède jamais à la facilité ou aux modes, il a commandé au fil des ans près de deux cents œuvres et en a créé plus de trois cents.

Loué pour son «intense musicalité et son immense sensibilité» (Musicworks, Canada) le Quatuor Bozzini a été qualifié de «l’un des quatuors à cordes les plus audacieux du monde entier» (BandCamp Daily). Il présente annuellement une série de concerts à Montréal et fait des tournées au Canada, aux États-Unis, en Amérique du Sud et en Europe, en plus d’être invité par d’éminents festivals et séries tels que MärzMusik (Berlin), Ultima (Oslo), Huddersfield (Angleterre), Klangspuren (Autriche), Tsuda Hall (Tokyo), Musiekgebouw (Amsterdam), November Music (Pays-Bas), Présences (France), Kortrijk (Belgique), TimeSpans (NY), Porgy&Bess (Vienne) et Other Minds (San Francisco). Attentif au développement de sa discipline, le quatuor soutient également les artistes de la relève avec ses «laboratoires» musicaux, le Composer’s Kitchen, le Bozzini Lab et le Performer’s Kitchen. Il dirige sa propre étiquette de disques, la Collection QB, et a publié des albums prisés par la critique dont plusieurs sont désormais des disques de référence dans le milieu. L’ensemble a également enregistré sur étiquettes Wandelweiser, Another Timbre, Wergo-Deutscher Musikrat, Centredisques et ATMA Classique.

En 2018, le Quatuor Bozzini s’est vu décerner le prix Opus «Interprète de l’année» par le Conseil québécois de la musique (CQM). Finaliste au 28e Grand Prix du CAM (2012), le Quatuor Bozzini a également reçu trois prix Opus du CQM: «Rayonnement à l’étranger» (2007), «Disque de l’année, contemporain» (2004) «Découverte de l’année» (2001). Il est aussi récipiendaire du Prix Étoile-Galaxie de Radio-Canada (2001), du Förderpreis de la Siemens Musikstiftung (2007), du Prix de la critique de disques allemande Choix du trimestre, pour Arbor Vitae (2009) et du Prix Amis de la musique canadienne (2014).

[source: www.quatuorbozzini.ca] [iv-18]

Disques

  • Une commande du Conseil des arts du Canada, dédiée au Quatuor Bozzini…
  • The first in the Canadian Composers Series of CDs is a double album of chamber works by Linda Catlin Smith, who was born in New York, but studied in Canada and has lived in Toronto for over 25 years…
  • Les cinq œuvres sur cet album couvrent une période d’environ vingt ans: Lullaby a été écrite en 1991 et fall en 2013…
  • «Depuis plusieurs années, je reste convaincu que la musique (et l’art en général) doit simplement assumer l’humble tâche d’exprimer sa propre fin, ou en tous les cas son extinction progressive», écrivait en 1973 le compositeur italien Aldo Clementi (1925-2011)…
  • The string quartet sounds sometimes like the silence of a square, a room, a wall or a landscape…
  • Une visite de l’exposition Leduc, Borduas et le paysage de Saint-Hilaire, présentée en 2005 par le Musée des beaux-arts de Mont-Saint-Hilaire, a suscité chez moi l’envie de composer des œuvres en hommage à ces deux peintres ainsi qu’à Riopelle…
  • Une nouvelle vision de l’œuvre complète pour quatuor à cordes de John Cage…
  • Les quatre œuvres pour quatuor à cordes enregistrées ici, y compris un quintette avec trombone et clarinette respectivement, couvrent la période de 1997 à 2011…
  • Un vibrant portrait à la fine pointe de la nouvelle musique canadienne…
  • Je crois que mon activité fondamentale en tant que musicien est l’écoute, particulièrement celle de la musique…
  • Sehr langsam «Très lentement»: ces mots indiquent à la fois le tempo, le titre et le caractère de la pièce qui demande à ses auditeurs patience et concentration…
  • Cette partition, écrite à quatre mains par le duo Derome-Hétu, a été commandée et créée en 2008, dans le cadre du Forum Neue Musik 08 de la Deutschlandfunk, par le Quatuor Bozzini, une célèbre famille de cordes dont l’engagement dans la création n’est plus à défendre…
  • Le Quatuor Bozzini s’unit au compositeur Michel Gonneville pour créer un opéra contemporain unique sur le thème «chaud» de la crise écologique, inspiré par les réflexions de l’éminent écologiste québécois Pierre Dansereau…
  • Sixième volume de la collection, Arbor Vitæ rend hommage au compositeur canado-américain James Tenney en réunissant dans un même opus l’intégrale de ses quatuors et quintettes…
  • Experimental music, like Thomas Stiegler’s, invites the listener to find his way through unfamiliar acoustical environments…
  • Deux voix fortes et distinctes: du long déploiement des canons de Skempton aux hoquets immuables de Kondo…
  • «Le matériau peut être anonyme…
  • DAME est fière de présenter le 13 octobre 2005 le deuxième titre de la Collection QB — Different Trains de Steve Reich interprétée par le Quatuor Bozzini…
  • Voguant librement entre l’événement d’avant-garde et le concert traditionnel, le Quatuor Bozzini est un groupe qui mord dans la musique à pleines dents et joue avec une passion irrésistible, selon le Irish Times…