String Quartet No. 1 “The White Shift” (2000)

Rudolf Komorous

quatuor à cordes

Notes de programme

[traduction française non disponible]

The 1st String Quartet (The White Shift) was written in 2000 for the Modern String Quartet and was premiered in October of that year in Toronto. It comprises 15 segments which do represent all the possible combinations of the four instruments of the ensemble, i.e. four solos, all possible different duos, trios, and once the full quartet. The segments are divided (with the exception of the last two, where there is just a silence) by “chords” played on strings between the bridge and the tailpiece. In contrast, the music of the 2nd String Quartet (The Atonement) evolves freely according to its volition, creating its own form in the end. This is what the Zen painters would probably call “form no form”.