Composer’s Kitchen 2020

For its 3rd partnership with Gaudeamus Muziekweek in The Netherlands, Quatuor Bozzini invites Canadian (or permanent resident) composers to apply for Composers’ Kitchen 2020. This professional residency will take place in Montréal (Canada) from April 25 to May 2, 2020, and in Utrecht (The Netherlands) from September 7 to 11, 2020. Composers Nicole Lizée and Maybe Nas will join the quartet as mentors for this residency.

Composer’s Kitchen

Composer’s Kitchen is a professional residency produced by Quatuor Bozzini since 2005 for composers in string quartet writing. Offered to 4 participants, it is a combination of workshop, laboratory, masterclass, and concert settings. The residency occurs over two phases: in the first phase, a week-long workshop occurs in Montréal (Canada), where sketches are developed into new compositions by being read, played, assessed, analysed, worked on, played again and performed in a final concert. Six months later, all the artists reunite in the Composer’s Kitchen second phase which takes place in partnership with an international organization (in the past: Huddersfield Contemporary Music Festival, Gaudeamus Muziekweek, Sound and Music/Sound Scotland), and the pieces from the Montréal portion will be refreshed and revised prior to a final performance in the international partner country. Throughout the process, the composers will be supported by — other than Quatuor Bozzini — the presence of experienced mentors who are amongst the most important figures in new music creation.

“Dare to do what you’ve never dared before!”

Each edition of the Composer’s Kitchen is a chance to rigorously work in a creative, non-competitive and relaxed atmosphere. Residents are encouraged to experiment beyond the limits of convention and to explore new and varied aesthetic styles in a way that their mastery in string quartet writing is strengthened to its highest degree during this enriching experience.

Quatuor Bozzini loves cultivating these relationships with composers beyond the residency period, resulting in a rich network of collaborations. In this way, Quatuor Bozzini always strives to stay active in current trends and practices of emerging composers.

Past concerts

7 Sept 2020
11 Sept 2020
Cancelled Residency
Utrecht (Netherlands)
2 May 2020
6:00 pm
Cancelled
Série QB
DavachiHallKaragkezidisLanao
Residency
Montréal (Québec)
25 Apri 2020
2 May 2020
Série QB
Online event Residency

By continuing browsing our site, you agree to the use of cookies, which allow audience analytics.

Composer’s Kitchen 2020

Présentation

Pour le 3e volet de son partenariat avec Gaudeamus Muziekweek aux Pays-Bas, le Quatuor Bozzini invite les compositeurs.trices canadiens (ou résidents permanents) à soumettre leur candidature pour le Composer’s Kitchen 2020. Cette résidence professionnelle aura lieu à Montréal (Canada) du 25 avril au 2 mai 2020 et à Utrecht (Pays-Bas) du 7 au 11 septembre 2020. Les deux compositrices Nicole Lizée et Mayke Nas se joignent au quatuor à titre de mentores.

Composer’s Kitchen

Produite par le Quatuor Bozzini depuis 2005, le Composer’s Kitchen est une résidence professionnelle de composition pour le quatuor à cordes. Offerte à quatre compositeurs participants, cet événement unique fusionne les concepts d’atelier, de laboratoire, de salle de jeu et de concert. La résidence se décline en deux parties: dans un premier temps, un atelier d’une semaine se déroule à Montréal (Canada) durant lequel des esquisses sont développées en de nouvelles compositions. Les œuvres sont lues, décortiquées, commentées, travaillées, analysées, rejouées, puis exécutées à l’occasion d’un concert de clôture. Six mois plus tard, tous se retrouvent dans la deuxième phase du Composer’s Kitchen, en partenariat avec une organisation internationale (par le passé: Huddersfield Contemporary Music Festival, Gaudeamus Muziekweek, Sound and Music/Sound Scotland) et les œuvres sont rafraîchies et retravaillées avant une représentation finale dans le pays partenaire. Tout au long du processus, les artistes peuvent compter — en plus du Quatuor — sur la présence de mentors d’expérience qui comptent parmi les figures les plus importantes de la nouvelle création musicale.

«Osez faire ce que vous n’avez jamais osé faire!»

Chaque édition du Composer’s Kitchen est l’occasion d’effectuer un travail rigoureux de création dans une atmosphère décontractée et non compétitive. À travers cette expérience enrichissante, les participantes et participants sont invités à expérimenter au-delà des limites du conventionnel et du convenu, et à explorer des esthétiques nouvelles et variées de manière à ce que leur maîtrise de l’écriture pour quatuor à cordes s’en trouve consolidée au plus haut niveau.

Le Quatuor Bozzini aime nourrir ces échanges avec les compositrices et les compositeurs bien au-delà de la durée de la résidence, résultant en un riche réseau de collaborations. De cette manière, le Quatuor cherche toujours à rester en phase avec les tendances émergentes et les pratiques des créatrices et les créateurs de la relève.