Composer’s Kitchen 2021

Resumption of the Composer’s Kitchen 2020 in partenership with Gaudeamus Muziekweek. For its 3rd partnership with Gaudeamus Muziekweek in The Netherlands, Quatuor Bozzini invites Canadian (or permanent resident) composers to apply for Composers’ Kitchen 2021. This professional residency takes place in Montréal (Canada) from June 21 to 24, 2021, and Aug-10-12, 2021, and in Utrecht (The Netherlands) from September 7 to 11, 2021. Composer Maybe Nas joins the quartet as mentor for this residency.

Composer’s Kitchen

“Dare to do what you’ve never done before!

Since 2005, this has been the motto to welcome several generations of creators of Composer’s Kitchen, a professional composition residency in string quartet writing. Offered to four emerging composers, this unique occasion is a combination of workshop, laboratory, masterclass, and concert settings. Throughout the multi-phase process, the composers are supported by — other than Quatuor Bozzini — the presence of experienced mentors who are amongst the most important figures in new music creation.

Each edition of the Composer’s Kitchen is a chance to rigorously work in a creative, non-competitive and relaxed atmosphere. During this enriching experience, residents are encouraged to experiment beyond the limits of convention and to explore new and varied aesthetic styles in a way that their mastery in string quartet writing is strengthened to its highest degree.

Quatuor Bozzini loves cultivating these relationships with composers beyond the residency period, resulting in a rich network of collaborations. In this way, Quatuor Bozzini always strives to stay active in current trends and practices of emerging composers.

Quatuor Bozzini works in partnership with international organizations — Huddersfield Contemporary Music Festival, Sound and Music, Gaudeamus Muziekweek, nyMusikk Norge — resulting in unique and rich exchanges between host countries.

Video

  • Composer’s Kitchen 2021 — Meet the Artists; June 2021

Past concerts

12 Sept 2021
7:00 pm
DavachiHallKaragkezidisLanao Aregay
In person
Utrecht (Netherlands)
7 Sept 2021
11 Sept 2021
In person Residency
Utrecht (Netherlands)
10 Augu 2021
12 Augu 2021
In person Residency
Montréal (Québec)
21 June 2021
24 June 2021
DavachiHallKaragkezidisLanao Aregay
In person Residency
Montréal (Québec)

Composer’s Kitchen 2021

Reprise de l’édition Composer’s Kitchen 2020 en partenariat avec Gaudeamus Muziekweek. Pour le 3e volet de son partenariat avec Gaudeamus Muziekweek aux Pays-Bas, le Quatuor Bozzini invite les compositeurs.trices canadien,nes (ou résident.es permanent.es) à soumettre leur candidature pour le Composer’s Kitchen 2021. Cette résidence professionnelle aura lieu à Montréal (Canada) du 21 au 24 juin 2021 et du 10 au 12 août 2021, et à Utrecht (Pays-Bas) du 7 au 11 septembre 2021. La compositrice Mayke Nas se joint au quatuor à titre de mentore.

Compositrice mentore

Compositeur·rices en résidence

Composer’s Kitchen

«Osez ce que vous n’avez jamais fait avant!»

Cette devise accueille les différentes générations de créateurs depuis 2005 pour le Composer’s Kitchen, une résidence professionnelle de composition pour le quatuor à cordes. Offert à quatre compositeurs de la relève, cet événement unique fusionne les concepts d’atelier, de laboratoire, de salle de jeu et de concert. Tout au long du processus en plusieurs phases, les artistes peuvent compter — en plus du Quatuor Bozzini — sur la présence de mentors d’expérience, des figures importantes de la nouvelle création musicale.

Chaque édition du Composer’s Kitchen est l’occasion d’effectuer un travail rigoureux de création dans une atmosphère décontractée et non compétitive. À travers cette expérience enrichissante, les artistes sont invités à expérimenter au-delà des limites du conventionnel et du convenu, et à explorer des esthétiques nouvelles et variées de manière à ce que leur maîtrise de l’écriture pour quatuor à cordes s’en trouve consolidée au plus haut niveau.

Le Quatuor Bozzini aime nourrir ces échanges avec les compositrices et les compositeurs bien au-delà de la durée de la résidence, résultant en un riche réseau de collaborations. De cette manière, le Quatuor Bozzini cherche toujours à rester en phase avec les tendances émergentes et les pratiques des créatrices et les créateurs de la relève.

Le Quatuor Bozzini travaille en partenariat avec des organismes internationaux — Huddersfield Contemporary Music Festival, Gaudeamus Muziekweek, Sound Music/Sound Scotland et nyMusikk Norway — résultant en des échanges uniques et riches entre les différents pays hôtes.

Vidéos

  • Composer’s Kitchen 2021 — Rencontrez les artistes; juin 2021

Concerts passés

12 sept 2021
19h00
DavachiHallKaragkezidisLanao Aregay
En salle
Utrecht (Pays-Bas)
7 sept 2021
11 sept 2021
En salle Résidence
Utrecht (Pays-Bas)
10 août 2021
12 août 2021
En salle Résidence
Montréal (Québec)
21 juin 2021
24 juin 2021
DavachiHallKaragkezidisLanao Aregay
En salle Résidence
Montréal (Québec)