Wandelweiser in Montréal

  • Wandelweiser Komponisten Ensemble
  • Jürg Frey

The Wandelweiser Composers Ensemble is an international group of composers/performers, founded more than 20 years ago. Although their compositional output is varied, the members of this group share a similar aesthetic and philosophical sensibility towards composing, playing, and listening.

Wandelweiser composer Radu Malfatti has described their music as “the evaluation and integration of silence (s) rather than an ongoing carpet of never-ending sounds.”

Although stunningly beautiful in performance, this music more often finds its home in interdisciplinary contexts and art venues than in concert halls. The music unravels over time, often stretching the temporal limits commonly expected from concerts, and is available for those willing to allow themselves the time to listen.

The music of the Wandelweiser composers has slowly but surely made its profound mark on the Canadian new-music scene. Through their ongoing programming of Wandelweiser composers, and their widely distributed CD of Jürg Frey’s String Quartets, the Quatuor Bozzini has contributed to the development of an audience for this music in Canada.

The Wandelweiser Composers Ensemble was first presented in Canada in 2003 at the Théatre La Chapelle in Montréal, and the Quatuor Bozzini is thrilled to present the ensemble and their music again this June, in the larger context of 10 concerts in two different cities.

Our five invited Wandelweiser composers are:

As a special guest we welcome the legendary composer, Christian Wolff (Hanover/New Hampshire), who has a longstanding relationship with the Wandelweiser composers. Together with Bozzini and Wandelweiser, he will perform a concert of pieces from his Prose Collection. This promises to be a landmark event.

This project is produced by the Quatuor Bozzini (Montréal), Festival suoni per il popolo (Montréal), Immersound at Oboro (Montréal), and Open Space (Victoria), with financial support from the Canada Council for the Arts, Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec, and Conseil des arts de Montréal.

Past concerts

17 June 2013
8:30 pm
Série QB
BrandesMalfattiStiegler
Montréal (Québec)
16 June 2013
8:00 pm
Série QB
Wolff
Montréal (Québec)
15 June 2013
7:30 pm
Série QB
ArnoldFrey
Montréal (Québec)
15 June 2013
5:00 pm
Série QB
FreyPisaro
Montréal (Québec)
15 June 2013
3:00 pm
Série QB
BeugerPisaro
Montréal (Québec)
14 June 2013
7:00 pm
Série QB
BeugerWerder
Montréal (Québec)

By continuing browsing our site, you agree to the use of cookies, which allow audience analytics.

Wandelweiser à Montréal

  • Wandelweiser Komponisten Ensemble
  • Christian Wolff

Le Wandelweiser Composers Ensemble, fondé il y a plus de 20 ans, est un groupe de compositeurs / performeurs issus de plusieurs pays. Malgré leur grande diversité, ces compositeurs partagent la même sensibilité esthétique et philosophique à l’égard de la création, de l’interprétation et de l’écoute.

Le compositeur Wandelweiser Radu Malfatti, décrit leur musique comme une «évaluation» et une «intégration» du silence/de silences; elle n’est en aucun cas «un tapis de sons se déroulant à l’infini». Malgré qu’elle soit d’une beauté stupéfiante en concert, cette musique marginale se retrouve plus souvent dans des contextes interdisciplinaires que dans les salles de concert. Très souvent, leur performance déborde des limites temporelles ordinaires, ceci dans le but de donner du temps aux auditeurs intéressés à écouter vraiment.

Cette musique fait petit à petit sa marque sur la scène de la nouvelle musique canadienne, notamment grâce au Quatuor Bozzini. En programmant régulièrement des compositeurs Wandelweiser à ses concerts et aussi à travers le CD des Quatuors à cordes de Jürg Frey, largement diffusé, il a contribué à développer un public pour ces musiques au Canada.

Le Quatuor Bozzini a invité le Wandelweiser une première fois, en 2003, au Théâtre La Chapelle à Montréal. C’est avec beaucoup de plaisir qu’il réitère son invitation au groupe, dans un contexte élargi, et dans deux villes différentes.

Les œuvres de cinq compositeurs du Wandelweiser seront au programme de l’événement:

De plus, le renommé compositeur Christian Wolff (Hanover, New Hampshire, ÉU), un ami et collaborateur de longue date du Wandelweiser, est l’invité spécial de cet évènement: il interprétera, avec le Quatuor Bozzini et le Wandelweiser Composer Ensemble, des pièces tirées de sa Prose Collection. Voilà sans doute un moment qui passera à l’histoire!

Une production Quatuor Bozzini (Montréal), Festival suoni per il popolo (Montréal), Oboro (Montréal), Open Space (Victoria) avec le soutien du Conseil des arts du Canada, du Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec et du Conseil des arts de Montréal.

Concerts passés

17 juin 2013
20h30
Série QB
BrandesMalfattiStiegler
En salle
Montréal (Québec)
16 juin 2013
20h00
Série QB
Wolff
En salle
Montréal (Québec)
15 juin 2013
19h30
Série QB
ArnoldFrey
En salle
Montréal (Québec)
15 juin 2013
17h00
Série QB
FreyPisaro
En salle
Montréal (Québec)
15 juin 2013
15h00
Série QB
BeugerPisaro
En salle
Montréal (Québec)
14 juin 2013
19h00
Série QB
BeugerWerder
En salle
Montréal (Québec)